Catholic Church




Also known as: Tuvalu (Deutsch, español, Italiano, polski, Português, latine), les Tuvalu (français), 圖瓦盧 (正體中文), ツバル (日本語)

Formerly: Ellice Islands

Continent: Oceania

Capital: Fongafale

Area: 26 km²

Population: 11,052

Religions: Protestant 92.4% (Congregational Christian Church of Tuvalu 85.7%, Brethren 3%, Seventh Day Adventist 2.8%, Assemblies of God .9%), Baha'i 2%, Jehovah's Witness 1.3%, Mormon 1%, other 3.1%, none 0.2%

Languages: Tuvaluan (official), English (official), Samoan, Kiribati (on the island of Nui)

Ethnic Groups: Tuvaluan 86.8%, Tuvaluan/I-Kiribati 5.6%, Tuvaluan/other 6.7%, other 0.9%

Motto: Tuvalu mo te Atua (Tuvaluan) (Tuvalu for the Almighty)

Neighbouring Countries: Solomon Islands Solomon Islands, ↑ Fiji Fiji, ↗ Kiribati Kiribati, → Tokelau Tokelau, ↘ Wallis and Futuna Wallis and Futuna, ↘ Samoa Samoa

Jurisdictions (1): Missions “sui juris” Independent Mission (1)

Roman Rite (1): Funafuti

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

CardinalsCardinals: Past Cardinals

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

Apostolic Delegation: Pacific Ocean Archbishop Novatus Rugambwa (65)

Conference of Bishops: Conferentia Episcopalis Pacifici (C.E. PAC.) Bishop Paul Patrick Donoghue, S.M. (74)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Catholic Bishops’ Conferences of Oceania (F.C.B.C.O.) Bishop Anthony Randazzo (56)

Last updated on 2023.03.17

© 2023