Catholic Church


Independent State of Samoa (Samoa)

Also known as: Samoa (Deutsch, español, Italiano, polski, Português, latine), les Samoa (français), 薩摩亞 (正體中文), サモア (日本語)

Formerly: Western Samoa

Continent: Oceania

Capital: Apia

Population: 196,628

Area: 2,934 km²

Religions: Protestant 57.4% (Congregationalist 31.8%, Methodist 13.7%, Assembly of God 8%, Seventh-Day Adventist 3.9%), Roman Catholic 19.4%, Mormon 15.2%, Worship Centre 1.7%, other Christian 5.5%, other 0.7%, none 0.1%, unspecified 0.1%

Languages: Samoan (Polynesian) (official), English

Motto: Fa’avae i le Atua Samoa (Samoan) (God be the Foundation of Samoa)

Neighbouring Countries: Wallis and Futuna Wallis and Futuna, ↖ Tuvalu Tuvalu, ↑ Tokelau Tokelau, → American Samoa American Samoa, ↓ Tonga Tonga

Circumscriptions (1): Metr. Archdioceses (1)

Roman Rite (1): Samoa–Apia

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Circumscriptions | Former Circumscriptions

CardinalsCardinals: Past Cardinals

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (1), Basilicas Basilicas (1)

Apostolic Nunciature: Samoa Archbishop Martin Krebs (58)

Conference of Bishops: Conferentia Episcopalis Pacifici (C.E. PAC.) Link Cardinal Soane Patita Paini Mafi (53)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Catholic Bishops’ Conferences of Oceania (F.C.B.C.O.) Archbishop John Ribat, M.S.C. (58)

as of 2015.04.03

© 2015 GCatholic.org