Catholic Church


Republic of Kiribati (Kiribati)


Also known as: les Kiribati (français), Kiribati (Deutsch, español, Italiano, polski, Português, latine), Quiribati (Português), 基里巴斯 (正體中文), キリバス (日本語)

By Type (1)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (1)

By Rite

Roman Rite (1): Tarawa and Nauru

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

Apostolic Nunciature: Kiribati Archbishop Novatus Rugambwa (66)

Conference of Bishops: Conferentia Episcopalis Pacifici (C.E. PAC.) Bishop Paul Patrick Donoghue, S.M. (74)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Catholic Bishops’ Conferences of Oceania (F.C.B.C.O.) Bishop Anthony Randazzo (57)


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (1)


Continent: Oceania

Capital: Tarawa

Area: 811 km²

Population: 108,145

Former Name: Gilbert Islands

Neighbouring Countries: Tuvalu Tuvalu, ← Micronesia Micronesia, ← Nauru Nauru, ↖ Marshall Islands Marshall Islands, ↑ U.S. Minor Islands U.S. Minor Islands, ↘ Cook Islands Cook Islands, ↘ French Polynesia French Polynesia, ↓ Tokelau Tokelau

Cultural Summary

Religions: Roman Catholic 57.3%, Kiribati Uniting Church 31.3%, Mormon 5.3%, Baha'i 2.1%, Seventh Day Adventist 1.9%, other 2.1%

Languages: I-Kiribati, English (official)

Ethnic Groups: I-Kiribati 96.2%, I-Kiribati/mixed 1.8%, Tuvaluan 0.2%, other 1.8%

Motto: Te mauri, te raoi ao te tabomoa (Health, Peace and Prosperity)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 726 km²

Catholic Population: 63,000 Catholics (54.3% of 116,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 23 parishes, 21 mission stations (13 with resident priest, 8 without resident priest), 4 other centres

Clergy: 1 bishop (diocesan), 28 priests (20 diocesan, 8 religious)

Non-Clergy: 80 religious (10 brothers, 70 sisters), 21 major seminarians, 3 missionaries, 288 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2023.11.30

© 2023