Catholic Church


Solomon Islands

Solomon Islands

Also known as: Salomonen (Deutsch), Islas Salomón (español), les Îles Salomon (français), Isole Salomone (Italiano), Wyspy Salomona (polski), Ilhas Salomão (Português), 所羅門群島 (正體中文), ソロモン諸島 (日本語), Insulae Salomonis (latine)

Formerly: British Solomon Islands

Continent: Oceania

Capital: Honiara

Area: 27,986 km²

Population: 647,581

Patron Saint: Holy Name of Mary (September 12)

Religions: Protestant 73.4% (Church of Melanesia 31.9%, South Sea Evangelical 17.1%, Seventh Day Adventist 11.7%, United Church 10.1%, Christian Fellowship Church 2.5%), Roman Catholic 19.6%, other Christian 2.9%, other 4%, none 0.03%, unspecified 0.1%

Languages: Melanesian pidgin (in much of the country is lingua franca), English (official but spoken by only 1%-2% of the population), 120 indigenous languages

Ethnic Groups: Melanesian 95.3%, Polynesian 3.1%, Micronesian 1.2%, other 0.3%

Motto: To lead is to serve (English)

Neighbouring Countries: Papua New Guinea Papua New Guinea, ↑ Nauru Nauru, → Tuvalu Tuvalu, ↘ Fiji Fiji, ↘ Vanuatu Vanuatu

Circumscriptions (3): Metr. Archdioceses (1), Dioceses (2)

Roman Rite (3): Auki, Gizo, Honiara

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Circumscriptions | Former Circumscriptions

CardinalsCardinals: Past Cardinals

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (3)

Celebrations Celebrations

Papal Visits

Apostolic Nunciature: Solomon Islands Archbishop Kurian Mathew Vayalunkal (52)

Conference of Bishops: The Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Papua New Guinea and Soloman Islands Link Bishop Rochus Josef Tatamai, M.S.C. (56)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Catholic Bishops’ Conferences of Oceania (F.C.B.C.O.) Archbishop Peter Loy Chong (58)

as of 2019.08.01

© 2019 GCatholic.org