Catholic Church




Also known as: Malaysia (Deutsch), Malasia (español), la Malaisie (français), Malesia (Italiano), Malezja (polski), Malásia (Português), 馬來西亞 (正體中文), マレーシア (日本語), Malaesia (latine)

Continent: South and East Asia

Capital: Kuala Lumpur

Population: 23,522,000

Area: 328,550 km²

Religions: Muslim, Buddhist, Daoist, Hindu, Christian, Sikh [in addition, Shamanism is practiced in East Malaysia]

Languages: Bahasa Melayu (official), English, Chinese dialects (Cantonese, Mandarin, Hokkien, Hakka, Hainan, Foochow), Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, Panjabi, Thai [in addition, in East Malaysia several indigenous languages are spoken, the largest are Iban and Kadazan]

Motto: Bersekutu Bertambah Mutu (Malay) (Unity is Strength)

Neighbouring Countries: Indonesia Indonesia, ↓ Singapore Singapore, ↑ Thailand Thailand, ↗ Philippines Philippines, ↘ Brunei Brunei

Circumscriptions (9): Metr. Archdioceses (3), Dioceses (6)

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Circumscriptions | Former Circumscriptions

Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (11), World Heritage Churches World Heritage Churches (2)

Documents Documents

Apostolic Nunciature: Malaysia Archbishop Joseph Salvador Marino (61)

Conference of Bishops: Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei (B.C.M.S.B.) Archbishop John Ha Tiong Hock (67)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Asian Bishops’ Conferences (F.A.B.C.) Link Cardinal Oswald Gracias (69)

as of 2014.09.11

© 2014 GCatholic.org