Catholic Church


Republic of Benin (Benin)


Also known as: Benín (español), le Bénin (français), Benin (Deutsch, Italiano, polski, Português), 貝寧 (正體中文), ベナン (日本語), Beninum (latine)

Formerly: Dahomey, French Dahomey

Continent: Western and Northern Africa

Capital: Porto Novo

Neighbouring Countries: Togo Togo, ↑ Burkina Faso Burkina Faso, ↑ Niger Niger, → Nigeria Nigeria

By Type (11)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (2)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (9)

By Rite

Roman Rite (10): Abomey, Cotonou, Dassa-Zoumé, Djougou, Kandi, Lokossa, N’Dali, Natitingou, Parakou, Porto Novo

Maronite Church (1): Annunciation of Ibadan

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

Apostolic Nunciature: Benin Archbishop Mark Gerard Miles (56)

Conference of Bishops: Conférence Episcopale du Bénin Archbishop Roger Houngbédji, O.P. (60)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Regional Episcopal Conference of West Africa (R.E.C.O.W.A.) Bishop Alexis Touabli Youlo (63)


Past Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (11)

Basilicas Basilicas (1)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Catholic Population: 4,017,000 Catholics (32.7% of 12,268,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 531 parishes, 1,412 mission stations (5 with resident priest, 1,407 without resident priest), 16 other centres

Clergy: 12 bishops (9 diocesan, 3 titular), 1,390 priests (1,131 diocesan, 259 religious)

Non-Clergy: 1,799 religious (140 brothers, 1,659 sisters), 29 members of secular institutes (sisters), 651 major seminarians, 15 missionaries, 16,400 catechists


Area: 110,622 km²

Population: 11,038,805

Religions: Muslim 27.7%, Roman Catholic 25.5%, Protestant 13.5% (Celestial 6.7%, Methodist 3.4%, other Protestant 3.4%), Vodoun 11.6%, other Christian 9.5%, other traditional religions 2.6%, other 2.6%, none 5.8%

Languages: French (official), Fon and Yoruba (most common vernaculars in south), tribal languages (at least six major ones in north)

Ethnic Groups: Fon and related 38.4%, Adja and related 15.1%, Yoruba and related 12%, Bariba and related 9.6%, Fulani and related 8.6%, Ottamari and related 6.1%, Yoa-Lokpa and related 4.3%, Dendi and related 2.9%, other 0.9%, foreigner 1.9%

Motto: Fraternité, Justice, Travail (French) (Fellowship, Justice, Labour)

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits

Last updated on 2023.09.15

© 2023