Catholic Church


Republic of Niger (Niger)


Also known as: Níger (español, Português), le Niger (français), Niger (Deutsch, Italiano, polski, latine), 尼日爾 (正體中文), ニジェール (日本語)

Continent: Western and Northern Africa

Capital: Niamey

Area: 1,266,700 km²

Population: 19,245,344

Religions: Muslim 80%, other (includes indigenous beliefs and Christian) 20%

Languages: French (official), Hausa, Djerma

Ethnic Groups: Hausa 53.1%, Zarma/Songhai 21.2%, Tuareg 11%, Fulani (Peul) 6.5%, Kanuri 5.9%, Gurma 0.8%, Arab 0.4%, Tubu 0.4%, other/unavailable 0.9%

Motto: Fraternité, Travail, Progrès (French) (Fraternity, Work, Progress)

Neighbouring Countries: Benin Benin, ← Burkina Faso Burkina Faso, ← Mali Mali, ↖ Algeria Algeria, ↑ Libya Libya, → Chad Chad, ↓ Nigeria Nigeria

Circumscriptions (2): Metr. Archdioceses (1), Dioceses (1)

Roman Rite (2): Maradi, Niamey

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Circumscriptions | Former Circumscriptions

CardinalsCardinals: Past Cardinals

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (2)

Documents Documents

Apostolic Nunciature: Niger

Conference of Bishops: Conférence des Evêques de Burkina Faso et du Niger Link Bishop Laurent Birfuoré Dabiré (53)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Regional Episcopal Conference of West Africa (R.E.C.O.W.A.) LinkLink Archbishop Ignatius Ayau Kaigama (61)

as of 2019.08.01

© 2019 GCatholic.org