Catholic Church


Federal Republic of Nigeria (Nigeria)


Also known as: Nigeria (Deutsch, español, Italiano, polski, latine), le Nigeria (français), le Nigéria (français), Nigéria (Português), 尼日利亞 (正體中文), ナイジェリア (日本語)

Continent: Western and Northern Africa

Capital: Abuja

Population: 137,260,000

Area: 910,768 km²

Patron Saints: St. Patrick, Our Lady Queen of Nigeria

Religions: Muslim 50%, Christian 40%, indigenous beliefs 10%

Languages: English (official), Hausa, Yoruba, Igbo (Ibo), Fulani

Motto: Unity and Faith, Peace and Progress (English)

Neighbouring Countries: Benin Benin, ↑ Niger Niger, ↗ Chad Chad, ↘ Cameroon Cameroon

Circumscriptions (56): Metr. Archdioceses (9), Dioceses (44), Apostolic Exarchates (1), Apostolic Vicariates (2)

Maronite Church (1): Western and Central Africa

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Circumscriptions | Former Circumscriptions

CardinalsCardinals (2 electors/3 total): Cardinal Francis Arinze (82)Arinze (82), Cardinal Anthony Olubunmi Okogie (78)Okogie (78), Cardinal John Olorunfemi Onaiyekan (71)Onaiyekan (71) | All Cardinals

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (57), Basilicas Basilicas (1)

Documents and Celebrations Documents and Celebrations

Papal Visits

Apostolic Nunciature: Nigeria Archbishop Augustine Kasujja (68)

Holy See Representation: Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Link Archbishop Augustine Kasujja (68)

Conference of Bishops: Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Nigeria Link Archbishop Ignatius Ayau Kaigama (56)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Regional Episcopal Conference of West Africa (R.E.C.O.W.A.) LinkLink

as of 2015.02.01

© 2015 GCatholic.org