Congregation of the Augustinians of the Assumption (A.A.)


Also known as: Assumptionisten (Deutsch) / Asuncionistas (español) / Congrégation des Augustins de l’Assomption (français) / Agostiniani dell’Assunzione (Italiano) / Congregatio Augustinianorum ab Assumptione (latine)

Type: Clerical Religious Congregation of Pontifical Right (for Men)

Depends on: Congregation for Institutes of Consecrated Life and for Societies of Apostolic Life

Statistics: 118 houses, 933 members (527 priests) (2020)

Address: Via San Pio V 55, 00165 Roma, Italy

Phone: 06.662.39.98

Website: Link




Superior General:FranceFr. Benoît Grière, A.A. (63)Fr. Benoît Grière, A.A. (63) (2011.05.11 – ...)
Superior General:USAFr. Richard E. Lamoureux, A.A. (1999.05.11 – 2011.05.11)
Superior General:Fr. Claude Maréchal, A.A. (1987 – 1999)
Superior General:Fr. Hervé Stéphan, A.A. (1975 – 1987)
Superior General:Fr. Paul Charpentier, A.A. (1969 – 1975)
Superior General:USAFr. Wilfrid Dufault, A.A. (1952 – 1969)
Superior General:Fr. Gervais Quenard, A.A. (1923 – 1952)
Vicar General:Fr. Joseph Maubon, A.A. (1918 – 1922)
Superior General:Fr. Emmauel Bailly, A.A. (1903 – 1917)
Superior General:Fr. François Picard, A.A. (1880 – 1903)
Superior General:FranceFr. Emmanuel d’Alzon, A.A. (1845 – 1880)
Founder:FranceFr. Emmanuel d’Alzon, A.A. (1845)

Living Bishops (1 Bishop)

TurkiyeBishop Louis-Armel Pelâtre, A.A. (81)Bishop Louis-Armel Pelâtre, A.A. (81), Titular Bishop of Sasima, Vicar Apostolic emeritus of Istanbul (Turkiye), former Apostolic Administrator of Istanbul of the Greeks (Turkiye) and former Patriarchal Administrator of Istanbul of the Greek-Melkites (Turkiye)

Saints (3 blesseds)

1952: BulgariaBlessed Kamen (Petăr Vichev / Петър Камен Вичев), priest and martyr

1952: BulgariaBlessed Pavel (Josif Džidžov / Йосиф Павел Джиджов), priest and martyr

1952: BulgariaBlessed Josafat (Robert Matej Šiškov / Роберт Матей Йосафат Шишков), priest and martyr

Deceased Bishops (5 Archbishops, 7 Bishops)

2022: BrazilBishop José Geraldo da Cruz, A.A., Bishop of Juazeiro (Brazil)

2007: GreeceArchbishop Antónios Varthalítis, A.A., Metropolitan Archbishop of Corfu–Zakynthos–Kefalonia (Greece)

2006: BulgariaArchbishop Metodi Dimitrov Stratiev, A.A., Apostolic Exarch of Sofia of the Bulgarians (Bulgaria)

2005: Congo-KinshasaArchbishop Charles Kambale Mbogha, A.A., Metropolitan Archbishop of Bukavu (Congo-Kinshasa)

2000: RomaniaBishop Vasile Cristea, A.A., Titular Bishop of Lebedus

1998: BulgariaBishop Samuel Seraphimov Djoundrine, A.A., Bishop of Nikopol (Bulgaria)

1991: MadagascarBishop Michel-Henri Canonne, A.A., Bishop of Tuléar (Madagascar)

1979: BrazilBishop Arturo Gerrit João Hermanus Maria Horsthuis, A.A., Bishop of Jales (Brazil)

1978: EnglandArchbishop George Andrew Beck, A.A., Metropolitan Archbishop of Liverpool (England)

1975: Congo-KinshasaBishop Henri Joseph Marius Piérard, A.A., Bishop of Beni (Congo-Kinshasa)

1968: GreeceArchbishop Antonio Gregorio Vuccino, A.A., Metropolitan Archbishop of Corfu–Zakynthos–Kefalonia (Greece)

1946: FranceBishop Pie Eugène Joseph Neveu, A.A., Titular Bishop of Citrus

as of 2022.05.11

© 2022 GCatholic.org