Maronite Diocese of


Lebanon Lebanon

Continent: Central and Southwest Asia

Rite: Maronite (Antiochian)

Type: Diocese Diocese, Proper eparchy of the Maronite Patriarch

Name: Jebbeh–Sarba–Jounieh / Joubbé–Sarba–Jounieh / Ioubben(sis), Sarben(sis) et Iunien(sis) Maronitarum (Latin)

Governed by: Patriarchal See of Antioch

Depends on: Dicastery for the Eastern Churches

Special Churches

Jbeil (↑), Baalbek–Deir Al-Ahmar (→), Beirut (↘), Antélias (↓)

Present Prelates

Patriarch ([2011.03.15] 2011.03.25 – ...):Cardinal Béchara Pierre Raï, O.M.M. (83)Cardinal Béchara Pierre Raï (83)


President of Synod of the Maronite Church

President of Assembly of the Catholic Patriarchs and Bishops of Lebanon

President of Council of Catholic Patriarchs of the East

Auxiliary Bishop (2011 – ...):Bishop Antoine Nabil Andari (73)Bishop Antoine Nabil Andari (73)

Titular Bishop of Tarsus of the Maronites

Auxiliary Bishop (2012.06.16 – ...):Bishop Paul Rouhana, O.L.M. (68)Bishop Paul Rouhana, O.L.M. (68)

Titular Bishop of Antarados

Former Prelates

Contact Info



Population: 520,225 Catholics (2019)

Statistics: 154 parishes, 2 missions, 225 priests (159 diocesan, 66 religious), 23 deacons, 182 lay religious (105 brothers, 77 sisters), 43 seminarians (2019)


Papal Visits

Last updated on 2023.04.13

© 2023