Catholic Church


Republic of Yemen (Yemen)


Also known as: Jemen (Deutsch, polski), Yemen (español, Italiano), le Yémen (français), Iémen (Português), 也門 (正體中文), イエメン (日本語), Iemenia (latine)

Continent: Central and Southwest Asia

Capital: San'a

Area: 527,968 km²

Population: 28,036,829

Saints: 1 Saint

Liturgical Calendar 📅

Religions: Muslim 99.1% (official; virtually all are citizens, an estimated 65% are Sunni and 35% are Shia), other 0.9% (includes Jewish, Baha'i, Hindu, and Christian; many are refugees or temporary foreign residents)

Languages: Arabic (official)

Ethnic Groups: predominantly Arab; but also Afro-Arab, South Asians, Europeans

Neighbouring Countries: Djibouti Djibouti, ← Eritrea Eritrea, ↑ Saudi Arabia Saudi Arabia, ↗ Oman Oman, ↓ Somalia Somalia

Jurisdictions (1): Apostolic Vicariates Apostolic Vicariate (1)

Roman Rite (1): Southern Arabia

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

CardinalsCardinals: Past Cardinals

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

All Churches All Churches
Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (1)

Roman-Rite Church Shrines in the Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy

Apostolic Nunciature: Yemen

Last updated on 2023.03.17

© 2023