Catholic Church


Republic of Vanuatu (Vanuatu)


Also known as: Vanuatu (Deutsch, español, Italiano, polski, Português, latine), le Vanuatu (français), 瓦努阿圖 (正體中文), バヌアツ (日本語)

By Type (1)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (1)

By Rite

Roman Rite (1): Port-Vila

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

Apostolic Nunciature: Vanuatu

Conference of Bishops: Conferentia Episcopalis Pacifici (C.E. PAC.) Bishop Paul Patrick Donoghue, S.M. (74)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Catholic Bishops’ Conferences of Oceania (F.C.B.C.O.) Bishop Anthony Randazzo (57)


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (1)


Continent: Oceania

Capital: Port Vila

Area: 12,189 km²

Population: 282,814

Former Name: New Hebrides

Neighbouring Countries: Australia Australia, ↖ Solomon Islands Solomon Islands, → Fiji Fiji, ↓ New Caledonia New Caledonia

Cultural Summary

Religions: Protestant 70% (includes Presbyterian 27.9%, Anglican 15.1%, Seventh Day Adventist 12.5%, Assemblies of God 4.7%, Church of Christ 4.5%, Neil Thomas Ministry 3.1%, and Apostolic 2.2%), Roman Catholic 12.4%, customary beliefs 3.7% (including Jon Frum cargo cult), other 12.6%, none 1.1%, unspecified 0.2%

Languages: local languages (more than 100) 63.2%, Bislama (official; creole) 33.7%, English (official) 2%, French (official) 0.6%, other 0.5%

Ethnic Groups: Melanesian 99.2%, non-Melanesian 0.8%

Motto: Long God yumi stanap (Bislama) (Let us stand firm in God)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 12,189 km²

Catholic Population: 48,000 Catholics (15.2% of 315,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 28 parishes, 35 other centres

Clergy: 1 bishop (diocesan), 33 priests (20 diocesan, 13 religious)

Non-Clergy: 88 religious (38 brothers, 50 sisters), 9 major seminarians, 1 missionary, 55 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2023.11.30

© 2023