Catholic Church


Northern Ireland

(Country of United Kingdom United Kingdom)

Northern Ireland

Also known as: Nordirland (Deutsch), Irlanda del Norte (español), Irlande du Nord (français), Irlanda del Nord (Italiano), Irlandia Północna (polski), Irlanda do Norte (Português), Sjeverna Irska (Hrvatski), Noord-Ierland (Nederlands), Tuaisceart Éireann (Gaeilge), 北愛爾蘭 (正體中文), 北アイルランド (日本語), 북아일랜드 (한국어), Hibernia Septentrionalis (latine)

By Type (6)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (1)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (5)

By Rite

Roman Rite (6): Armagh, Clogher, Derry, Down and Connor, Dromore, Kilmore

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

Apostolic Nunciature: Ireland Archbishop Luis Mariano Montemayor (67)

Conference of Bishops: Irish Episcopal Conference Archbishop Eamon Martin (62)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Commissio Episcopatuum Communitatis Europææ (COM.E.C.E.) Bishop Mariano Crociata (70)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consilium Conferentiarum Episcopalium Europæ (C.C.E.E.) Archbishop Gintaras Linas Grušas (62)


Past Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

All Churches

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (5)

Church Lists

Roman-Rite Church Shrines in the Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy


Saints: 13 Saints, 2 Blesseds

Statistics (See Ireland)


Continent: West Europe

Capital: Belfast

Area: 13,843 km²

Population: 1,862,100

Part of: United Kingdom United Kingdom (Country)

Neighbouring Countries: Scotland Scotland, → Isle of Man Isle of Man, ↘ England England, ↘ Wales Wales, ↓ Ireland Ireland

Cultural Summary

Religions: Roman Catholic 40.8%, Presbyterian 19.1%, Church of Ireland 13.7%, Methodist 3.0%, Other Christian 5.8%, Others 0.8%

Languages: English, Irish (about 10%), Ulster Scots

Last updated on 2023.11.30

© 2023