Catholic Church



(Associated Country of New Zealand New Zealand)


Also known as: Niue (Deutsch, español, français, Italiano, polski, Português, latine), 紐埃 (正體中文), ニウエ (日本語)

Continent: Oceania

Capital: Alofi

Area: 260 km²

Population: 1,618

Religions: Ekalesia Niue (Congregational Christian Church of Niue - a Protestant church founded by missionaries from the London Missionary Society) 67%, other Protestant 3% (includes Seventh Day Adventist 1%, Presbyterian 1%, and Methodist 1%), Mormon 10%, Roman Catholic 10%, Jehovah's Witnesses 2%, other 6%, none 2%

Languages: Niuean (official) 46% (a Polynesian language closely related to Tongan and Samoan), Niuean and English 32%, English (official) 11%, Niuean and others 5%, other 6%

Ethnic Groups: Niuen 66.5%, part-Niuen 13.4%, non-Niuen 20.1% (includes 12% European and Asian and 8% Pacific Islanders)

Neighbouring Countries: Tonga Tonga, → Cook Islands Cook Islands

Circumscriptions (1): Dioceses (1)

Roman Rite (1): Tonga

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Circumscriptions | Former Circumscriptions

CardinalsCardinals: Past Cardinals

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

Apostolic Delegation: Pacific Ocean Archbishop Novatus Rugambwa (63)

as of 2021.10.12

© 2021 GCatholic.org