Catholic Church


Republic of Equatorial Guinea (Equatorial Guinea)

Equatorial Guinea

Also known as: Äquatorialguinea (Deutsch), Guinea Ecuatorial (español), la Guinée équatoriale (français), Guinea Equatoriale (Italiano), Gwinea Równikowa (polski), Guiné Equatorial (Português), 赤道幾內亞 (正體中文), 赤道ギニア (日本語), Guinea Æquatorensis (latine)

By Type (6)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (1)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (5)

By Rite

Roman Rite (5): Bata, Ebebiyín, Evinayong, Malabo, Mongomo

Maronite Church (1): Annunciation of Ibadan

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

Apostolic Nunciature: Equatorial Guinea Archbishop José Avelino Bettencourt (61)

Conference of Bishops: Conferencia Episcopal de Guinea Ecuatorial Bishop Juan Domingo-Beka Esono Ayang, C.M.F. (54)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Association des Conférences Episcopales de la Région de l’Afrique Central (A.C.E.R.A.C.) Archbishop Goetbé Edmond Djitangar (71)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Symposium des Conférences Episcopales d’Afrique et de Madagascar (S.C.E.A.M.) Cardinal Fridolin Ambongo Besungu, O.F.M. Cap. (63)


Past Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (5)

Basilicas Basilicas (2)


Patron Saint: Immaculate Conception

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits


Continent: Eastern and Central Africa

Capital: Malabo

Area: 28,051 km²

Population: 778,358

Former Name: Spanish Guinea

Neighbouring Countries: São Tomé and Príncipe São Tomé and Príncipe, ↗ Cameroon Cameroon, ↘ Gabon Gabon

Cultural Summary

Religions: nominally Christian and predominantly Roman Catholic, pagan practices

Languages: Spanish (official) 67.6%, other (includes French (official), Fang, Bubi) 32.4%

Ethnic Groups: Fang 85.7%, Bubi 6.5%, Mdowe 3.6%, Annobon 1.6%, Bujeba 1.1%, other 1.4%

Motto: Unidad, Paz, Justicia (Spanish) (Unity, Peace, Justice)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 28,051 km²

Catholic Population: 1,126,000 Catholics (7.3% of 15,506,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 97 parishes, 544 mission stations (without resident priest), 24 other centres

Clergy: 6 bishops (5 diocesan, 1 titular), 232 priests (149 diocesan, 83 religious), 2 permanent deacons (diocesan)

Non-Clergy: 216 religious (26 brothers, 190 sisters), 1 member of secular institutes (sister), 81 major seminarians, 19 missionaries, 675 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2023.11.30

© 2023