Catholic Church


Faroe Islands

(Self-Governing Country of Denmark Denmark)

Faroe Islands

Also known as: Färöer (Deutsch), Islas Feroe (español), Îles Féroé (français), Isole FærØer (Italiano), Wyspy Owcze (polski), Ilhas Feroe (Português), Færøerne (dansk), 法羅群島 (正體中文), フェロー諸島 (日本語), Insulæ Færoæ (latine)

Continent: West Europe

Capital: Tórshavn

Area: 1,399 km²

Population: 50,730

Liturgical Calendar 📅

Religions: Christian 89.3% (predominantly Evangelical Lutheran), other 0.7%, more than one religion 0.2%, none 3.8%, unspecified 6%

Languages: Faroese 93.8% (derived from Old Norse), Danish 3.2%, other 3%

Ethnic Groups: Faroese 87.6% (Scandinavian and Anglo-Saxon descent), Danish 7.8%, other 4.6% (includes Icelandic, Norwegian, Filipino, Greenlandic, Thai, British)

Neighbouring Countries: Iceland Iceland, ↑ Svalbard and Jan Mayen Svalbard and Jan Mayen, → Norway Norway, ↓ Scotland Scotland

Jurisdictions (1): Dioceses Diocese (1)

Roman Rite (1): København

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

All Churches All Churches

Last updated on 2023.01.25

© 2023