Catholic Church


Republic of Belarus (Belarus)


Also known as: Weißrussland (Deutsch), Bielorrusia (español), la Biélorussie (français), le Belarus (français), Bielorussia (Italiano), Białoruś (polski), Bielorrússia (Português), Беларусь (русский язык), 白俄羅斯 (正體中文), ベラルーシ (日本語), Belorussia (latine), Ruthenia Alba (latine)

Formerly: Byelorussia, White Russia

Continent: East Europe

Capital: Minsk

Area: 202,900 km²

Population: 9,549,747

Saints: 3 Saints, 24 Blesseds

Religions: Orthodox 48.3%, Catholic 7.1%, other 3.5%, non-believers 41.1%

Languages: Russian (official) 70.2%, Belarusian (official) 23.4%, other 3.1% (includes small Polish- and Ukrainian-speaking minorities), unspecified 3.3%

Ethnic Groups: Belarusian 83.7%, Russian 8.3%, Polish 3.1%, Ukrainian 1.7%, other 2.4%, unspecified 0.9%

Neighbouring Countries: Poland Poland, ↖ Lithuania Lithuania, ↑ Latvia Latvia, → Russia Russia, ↓ Ukraine Ukraine

Jurisdictions (6): Metr. Archdioceses Metr. Archdiocese (1), Dioceses Diocese (3), Ordinariates Ordinariate (1), Apostolic Administrations Apostolic Administration (1)

Roman Rite (4): Grodno, Minsk–Mohilev, Pinsk, Vitebsk

Armenian Church (1): East Europe

Belarussian Church (1): Belarus

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

CardinalsCardinals: Past Cardinals

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (6), Basilicas Basilicas (3), National Shrines National Shrines (1)

Documents Documents

Apostolic Nunciature: Belarus Archbishop Ante Jozić (56)

Conference of Bishops: Conferentia Episcoporum Catholicorum Bielorussiæ Bishop Aleh Butkevich (51)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consilium Conferentiarum Episcopalium Europæ (C.C.E.E.) Archbishop Gintaras Linas Grušas (61)

Last updated on 2023.05.19

© 2023