Catholic Church


Negara Brunei Darussalam (Brunei)


Also known as: Brunei (Deutsch, Italiano, polski, Português), Brunéi (español), le Brunei (français), 汶萊(汶萊達魯薩蘭) (正體中文), ブルネイ (日本語), Bruneium (latine)

Continent: South and East Asia

Capital: Bandar Seri Begawan

Area: 5,265 km²

Population: 443,593

Religions: Muslim (official) 78.8%, Christian 8.7%, Buddhist 7.8%, other (includes indigenous beliefs) 4.7%

Languages: Malay (Bahasa Melayu) (official), English, Chinese dialects

Ethnic Groups: Malay 65.7%, Chinese 10.3%, other 24%

Motto: Sentiasa berbuat kebajikan dangan petunjuk Allah (Arabic) (Always in service with God’s guidance)

Neighbouring Countries: Malaysia Malaysia

Jurisdictions (1): Apostolic Vicariates Apostolic Vicariate (1)

Roman Rite (1): Brunei

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

CardinalsCardinals: Past Cardinals

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

All Churches All Churches
Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (1)

Documents Documents

Apostolic Delegation: Brunei Archbishop Wojciech Załuski (63)

Conference of Bishops: Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei (B.C.M.S.B.) Bishop Sebastian Francis (71)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Asian Bishops’ Conferences (F.A.B.C.) Cardinal Charles Maung Bo, S.D.B. (74)

Last updated on 2023.05.19

© 2023