Benedictine Congregation of Austria of the Immaculate Conception (O.S.B.)


Also known as: Österreichische Benediktinerkongregation (Deutsch) / Congrégation bénédictine d’Autriche (français) / Congregazione Benedettina d’Austria (Italiano) / Congregatio Austriaca ab Immaculata Conceptione (latine)

Type: Monastic Order of Pontifical Right (for Men)

Confederation: Benedictine Confederation of the Order of Saint Benedict (Benedictines)

Depends on: Dicastery for Institutes of Consecrated Life and for Societies of Apostolic Life

Statistics: 14 houses, 258 members (193 priests) (2020)

Address: Abt. Placidus Muchstrasse, 1, A-3591 Altenburg, Austria

Phone: (02982) 34.51

Website: Link




President:AustriaAbbot Johannes Perkmann, O.S.B. (54)Abbot Johannes Perkmann, O.S.B. (54) (2017.10.25 – ...)
President:AustriaAbbot Christian Haidinger, O.S.B. (2009.11.18 – 2017.10.25)
President:AustriaAbbot Clemens Lashofer, O.S.B. (1982 – 2009.07.06)
President:AustriaBishop Maximilian Aichern, O.S.B. (90)Abbot Maximilian Aichern, O.S.B. (90) (later Bishop) (1978 – 1981.12.15)
President:AustriaAbbot Koloman Holzinger, O.S.B. (1966 – 1978.09.02)
President:AustriaAbbot Maurus Riha, O.S.B. (1958 – 1966)
President:AustriaAbbot Theodor Springer, O.S.B. (1931 – 1958)
President:AustriaAbbot Amand Oppitz, O.S.B. (1921 – 1930)
President:AustriaAbbot Adalbert Dungel, O.S.B. (1889 – 1921)

Living Bishops (1 Bishop)

AustriaBishop Maximilian Aichern, O.S.B. (90)Bishop Maximilian Aichern, O.S.B. (90), Bishop emeritus of Linz (Austria)

Other Present Prelates (1)

AustriaFr. Bernhard Andreas Eckerstorfer, O.S.B. (52)Fr. Bernhard Andreas Eckerstorfer, O.S.B. (52), Rector Magnificus of Pontifical Athenaeum of Saint Anselm

Deceased Bishops (2 Cardinals, 1 Bishop)

2010: BrazilBishop Ricardo José Weberberger, O.S.B., Bishop of Barreiras (Brazil)

2003: AustriaCardinal Hans Hermann Groër, O.S.B., Cardinal-Priest of Ss. Gioacchino ed Anna al Tuscolano, Metropolitan Archbishop of Wien (Austria) and Ordinary of Austria of the Eastern Rite (Austria)

1889: AustriaCardinal Cölestin Ganglbauer, O.S.B., Cardinal-Priest of S. Eusebio and Metropolitan Archbishop of Wien (Austria)

Last updated on 2023.01.08

© 2023