Canons Regular of the Congregation of Saint Victor (C.R.S.V.)


Also known as: Canonici Regolari della Congregazione di San Vittore (Italiano) / Congregatio Victorina (latine)

Type: Order of Canons Regular of Pontifical Right (for Men)

Confederation: Confederation of Canons Regular of Saint Augustine

Depends on: Dicastery for Institutes of Consecrated Life and for Societies of Apostolic Life

Statistics: 6 houses, 68 members (52 priests) (2021)

Address: Abbaye St-Pierre, Champagne-sur-Rhône, F-07340 Serrières, France






Abbot General:FranceAbbot Hugues Paulze d’Ivoy, C.R.S.V. (57)Abbot Hugues Paulze d’Ivoy, C.R.S.V. (57) (2015.06.03 – ...)
Abbot General:FranceAbbot Maurice Bitz, C.R.S.V. (1976 – 2015.05)
Founder:FranceFr. Guillaume de Champeaux, C.R.S.V. (later Bishop) (1108)

Living Bishops (1 Archbishop)

FranceArchbishop Luc Ravel, C.R.S.V. (66)Archbishop Luc Ravel, C.R.S.V. (66), Archbishop emeritus of Strasbourg (France)

Saints (4 blesseds)

1794: FranceBlessed Gabriel Pergaud, priest and martyr

1792: FranceBlessed Jean-Charles-Marie Bernard du Cornillet, priest and martyr

1792: FranceBlessed Jean-François Bonnel de Pradal, priest and martyr

1792: FranceBlessed Claude Ponse, priest and martyr

Deceased Bishops (4 Cardinals, 1 Bishop)

1183: ItalyCardinal Ugo Pierleoni, C.R.S.V., Cardinal-Deacon of S. Angelo in Pescheria

1182: Cardinal Giovanni Pizzuti, C.R.S.V., Cardinal-Priest of S. Anastasia

1167: ItalyCardinal Ugo Pierleoni, C.R.S.V., Cardinal-Bishop of Frascati and Bishop of Piacenza (Italy)

1143: FranceCardinal Yves, C.R.S.V., Cardinal-Priest of S. Lorenzo in Damaso

1122: FranceBishop Guillaume de Champeaux, C.R.S.V., Bishop of Châlons-sur-Marne (France)

Last updated on 2023.05.27

© 2023