Society of the Divine Saviour (S.D.S.)



Also known as: Salvatorianer (Deutsch) / Société du Divin Sauveur (français) / Società del Divin Salvatore (Italiano) / Towarzystwa Boskiego Zbawiciela (Salwatorianie) (polski) / 救主會 (正體中文) / Societas Divini Salvatoris (latine)

Type: Clerical Religious Congregation of Pontifical Right (for Men)

Depends on: Congregation for Institutes of Consecrated Life and for Societies of Apostolic Life

Statistics: 163 houses, 1,157 members (839 priests) (2017)

Address: Via della Conciliazione 51, 00193 Roma, Italy


Website: Link




Superior General:BrazilFr. Milton Zonta, S.D.S. (60)Fr. Milton Zonta, S.D.S. (60) (2012.10.17 – ...)
Superior General:PolandFr. Andrzej Urbanski, S.D.S. (1999 – 2012.10.17)
Superior General:Fr. Karl Hoffmann, S.D.S. (1993 – 1999)
Superior General:Fr. Malachy McBride, S.D.S. (1987 – 1993)
Superior General:Fr. Gerard Rogowski, S.D.S. (1975 – 1987)
Superior General:Fr. Earl Donald Skwor, S.D.S. (1969 – 1975)
Superior General:Fr. Maurinus Rast, S.D.S. (1965 – 1969)
Superior General:Fr. Bonaventura Schweizer, S.D.S. (1953 – 1965)
Superior General:Fr. Franz Emmenegger, S.D.S. (1947 – 1953)
Superior General:Fr. Facundus Peterek, S.D.S. (1945 – 1947)
Superior General:GermanyFr. Pancratius Pfeiffer, S.D.S. (1915 – 1945.05.12)
Superior General:GermanyFr. Francis Mary of the Cross Jordan, S.D.S. (1881.12.08 – 1915)
Founder:GermanyFr. Francis Mary of the Cross Jordan, S.D.S. (1881.12.08)

Living Bishops (3 Bishops)

BrazilBishop Valter Carrijo, S.D.S. (86)Bishop Valter Carrijo, S.D.S. (86), Bishop emeritus of Brejo (Brazil)

ColombiaBishop Tulio Duque Gutiérrez, S.D.S. (85)Bishop Tulio Duque Gutiérrez, S.D.S. (85), Bishop emeritus of Pereira (Colombia)

ComorosBishop Charles Mahuza Yava, S.D.S. (59)Bishop Charles Mahuza Yava, S.D.S. (59), Vicar Apostolic of Archipel des Comores (Comoros) and Titular Bishop of Apisa maius

Other Present Prelates (1)

TanzaniaFr. Lazarus Vitalis Msimbe, S.D.S. (56)Fr. Lazarus Vitalis Msimbe, S.D.S. (56), Apostolic Administrator sede plena of Morogoro (Tanzania)

Deceased Bishops (3 Bishops)

2006: BrazilBishop Mário Teixeira Gurgel, S.D.S., Bishop of Itabira–Fabriciano (Brazil)

1998: TanzaniaBishop Arnold Ralph Cotey, S.D.S., Bishop of Nachingwea

1994: BrazilBishop Afonso de Oliveira Lima, S.D.S., Bishop of Brejo (Brazil)

Other Former Prelates (6)

>2010: ComorosFr. Jan Geerits, S.D.S., Apostolic Administrator of Comores (Comoros)

>2006: ComorosFr. Jan Szpilka, S.D.S., Apostolic Administrator of Comores (Comoros)

1967: ChinaFr. Heribert Aloysius Theodor Winkler (溫崇德), S.D.S., Ecclesiastical Superior of Shaowu 邵武 (China)

1964: ChinaFr. Inigo Maximilian König (王德俊), S.D.S., Prefect Apostolic of Shaowu 邵武 (China)

1957: IndiaFr. Angelus Münzloher, S.D.S., Prefect Apostolic of Assam (India)

1937: IndiaFr. Cristoforo Becker, S.D.S., Prefect Apostolic of Assam (India)

as of 2020.05.05

© 2020 GCatholic.org