Congregation of Mariannhill Missionaries (C.M.M.)


Also known as: Mariannhiller Missionare (Deutsch) / Missionnaires de Mariannhill (français) / Missionari di Mariannhill (Italiano) / Congregatio Missionariorum de Mariannhill (latine)

Type: Clerical Religious Congregation of Pontifical Right (for Men)

Depends on: Congregation for Institutes of Consecrated Life and for Societies of Apostolic Life

Statistics: 30 houses, 326 members (216 priests) (2017)

Address: Via S. Giovanni Eudes 91, 00163 Roma, Italy


Website: LinkLink




Superior General:South AfricaFr. Thulani Victor Mbuyisa, C.M.M. (47)Fr. Thulani Victor Mbuyisa, C.M.M. (47) (2016.10.08 – ...)
Superior General:SwitzerlandFr. Damian Weber, C.M.M. (2004.06.14 – 2016.10.08)
Superior General:GermanyFr. Dieter Gahlen, C.M.M. (2002.06 – 2004.01.25)
Superior General:Fr. Reginald Weinmann, C.M.M. (1932 – 1957)
Founder:AustriaFr. Franz Pfanner, C.M.M. (later Abbot) (1909)

Living Bishops (1 Archbishop, 1 Bishop)

South AfricaArchbishop Paul Mandla Khumalo, C.M.M. (72)Archbishop Paul Mandla Khumalo, C.M.M. (72), Metropolitan Archbishop emeritus of Pretoria (South Africa) and Military Ordinary emeritus of South African Defence Force (South Africa)

South AfricaBishop Mandla Siegfried Jwara, C.M.M. (62)Bishop Mandla Siegfried Jwara, C.M.M. (62), Vicar Apostolic of Ingwavuma (South Africa) and Titular Bishop of Elephantaria in Proconsulari

Deceased Bishops (1 Archbishop, 8 Bishops)

2019: Papua New GuineaBishop Christian Conrad Blouin, C.M.M., Bishop emeritus of Lae (Papua New Guinea)

2012: ZimbabweArchbishop Ernst Heinrich Karlen, C.M.M., Metropolitan Archbishop emeritus of Bulawayo (Zimbabwe)

2009: Papua New GuineaBishop Henry Anthony A. van Lieshout, C.M.M., Bishop emeritus of Lae (Papua New Guinea)

1980: South AfricaBishop Martin Elmar Schmid, C.M.M., Bishop of Mariannhill (South Africa)

1976: South AfricaBishop Joseph Grueter, C.M.M., Bishop emeritus of Mthatha (South Africa)

1976: ZimbabweBishop Adolph Gregory Schmitt, C.M.M., Bishop emeritus of Bulawayo (Zimbabwe)

1970: South AfricaBishop Alphonse Streit, C.M.M., Bishop emeritus of Mariannhill (South Africa)

1963: South AfricaBishop Joseph Adalbert Fleischer, C.M.M., Vicar Apostolic emeritus of Mariannhill (South Africa)

1940: South AfricaBishop Emanuele Hanisch, C.M.M., Vicar Apostolic of Umtata (South Africa)

Other Former Prelates (1)

>2009: ZimbabweFr. Martin Schupp, C.M.M., former Apostolic Administrator of Bulawayo (Zimbabwe)

as of 2020.01.04

© 2020 GCatholic.org