Consolata Missionaries (I.M.C.)


Also known as: Misioneros de la Consolata (español) / Missionnaires de la Consolata (français) / Istituto Missioni Consolata (Italiano) / Missionário da Consolata (Português) / Institutum Missionum a Consolata (latine)

Type: Clerical Religious Congregation of Pontifical Right (for Men)

Depends on: Congregation for Institutes of Consecrated Life and for Societies of Apostolic Life

Statistics: 221 houses, 982 members (759 priests) (2016)

Address: Viale della Mura Aurelie 11-13, 00165 Roma, Italy


Website: Link




Superior General:ItalyFr. Stefano Camerlengo, I.M.C. (62)Fr. Stefano Camerlengo, I.M.C. (62) (2011.06.08 – ...)
Superior General:ItalyFr. Aquileo Fiorentini, I.M.C. (66)Fr. Aquileo Fiorentini, I.M.C. (66) (2005.05.10 – 2011.06.08)
Superior General:ItalyFr. Pietro Trabucco, I.M.C. (1993 – 2005.05.10)
Superior General:Fr. Domenico Fiorina, I.M.C. (1949.09.01 – 1969)
Superior General:KenyaBishop Filippo Perlo, I.M.C. (1926.02.16 – 1929.01.11)
Founder:ItalyBlessed Fr. Giuseppe Allamano, I.M.C. (1901.01.29)

Living Bishops (2 Archbishops, 13 Bishops)

ColombiaArchbishop Luis Augusto Castro Quiroga, I.M.C. (76)Archbishop Luis Augusto Castro Quiroga, I.M.C. (76), Metropolitan Archbishop of Tunja (Colombia)

MozambiqueArchbishop Inácio Saure, I.M.C. (58)Archbishop Inácio Saure, I.M.C. (58), Metropolitan Archbishop of Nampula (Mozambique) and Vice-President of Episcopal Conference of Mozambique

TanzaniaBishop Evaristo Marc Chengula, I.M.C. (77)Bishop Evaristo Marc Chengula, I.M.C. (77), Bishop of Mbeya (Tanzania)

BrazilBishop Giovanni Crippa, I.M.C. (60)Bishop Giovanni Crippa, I.M.C. (60), Bishop of Estância (Brazil)

KenyaBishop Anthony Ireri Mukobo, I.M.C. (69)Bishop Anthony Ireri Mukobo, I.M.C. (69), Vicar Apostolic of Isiolo (Kenya) and Titular Bishop of Rusguniæ

KenyaBishop Peter Kihara Kariuki, I.M.C. (64)Bishop Peter Kihara Kariuki, I.M.C. (64), Bishop of Marsabit (Kenya)

MozambiqueBishop Francisco Lerma Martínez, I.M.C. (74)Bishop Francisco Lerma Martínez, I.M.C. (74), Bishop of Gurué (Mozambique)

BrazilBishop Aldo Mongiano, I.M.C. (99)Bishop Aldo Mongiano, I.M.C. (99), Bishop emeritus of Roraima (Brazil)

ColombiaBishop Francisco Javier Múnera Correa, I.M.C. (62)Bishop Francisco Javier Múnera Correa, I.M.C. (62), Vicar Apostolic of San Vicente del Caguán (Colombia) and Titular Bishop of Aquæ novæ in Numidia

KenyaBishop Virgilio Pante, I.M.C. (72)Bishop Virgilio Pante, I.M.C. (72), Bishop of Maralal (Kenya)

ColombiaBishop Joaquím Humberto Pinzón Güiza, I.M.C. (49)Bishop Joaquím Humberto Pinzón Güiza, I.M.C. (49), Vicar Apostolic of Puerto Leguízamo–Solano (Colombia) and Titular Bishop of Otočac

eSwatiniBishop José Luís Gerardo Ponce de León, I.M.C. (57)Bishop José Luís Gerardo Ponce de León, I.M.C. (57), Bishop of Manzini (eSwatini)

BrazilBishop Elio Rama, I.M.C. (65)Bishop Elio Rama, I.M.C. (65), Bishop of Pinheiro (Brazil)

KenyaBishop Ambrogio Ravasi, I.M.C. (89)Bishop Ambrogio Ravasi, I.M.C. (89), Bishop emeritus of Marsabit (Kenya)

BrazilBishop Walmir Alberto Valle, I.M.C. (80)Bishop Walmir Alberto Valle, I.M.C. (80), Bishop emeritus of Joaçaba (Brazil)

Other Present Prelates (2)

MozambiqueFr. Sandro Faedi, I.M.C. (71)Fr. Sandro Faedi, I.M.C. (71), Apostolic Administrator of Tete (Mozambique)

ItalyFr. Alberto Trevisiol, I.M.C.Fr. Alberto Trevisiol, I.M.C., Rector Magnificus of Pontifical Urbaniana University

Deceased Bishops (14 Bishops)

2016: BrazilBishop Carillo Gritti, I.M.C., Bishop-Prelate of Itacoatiara (Brazil)

2014: BrazilBishop Servílio Conti, I.M.C., Bishop-Prelate emeritus of Roraima (Brazil)

2014: ColombiaBishop José Luis Serna Alzate, I.M.C., Bishop emeritus of Líbano–Honda (Colombia)

2012: ColombiaBishop Angelo Cuniberti, I.M.C., Vicar Apostolic emeritus of Florencia (Colombia)

1990: KenyaBishop Carlo Maria Cavallera, I.M.C., Bishop emeritus of Marsabit (Kenya)

1978: ItalyBishop Carlo Re, I.M.C., Bishop emeritus of Civita–Tempio (Italy) and Bishop emeritus of Ampurias (Italy)

1976: KenyaBishop Lawrence Victor Bessone, I.M.C., Bishop of Meru (Kenya)

1966: BrazilBishop José Nepote-Fus, I.M.C., Bishop-Prelate emeritus of Roraima (Brazil)

1965: TanzaniaBishop Attilio Beltramino, I.M.C., Bishop of Iringa (Tanzania)

1960: ColombiaBishop Antonio Torasso, I.M.C., Vicar Apostolic of Florencia (Colombia)

1953: ItalyBishop Luigi Santa, I.M.C., Bishop of Rimini (Italy)

1948: KenyaBishop Filippo Perlo, I.M.C., Vicar Apostolic emeritus of Kenya (Kenya) and Superior General emeritus of Consolata Missionaries

1948: SomaliaBishop Gabriele Perlo, I.M.C., Vicar Apostolic emeritus of Mogadishu (Somalia)

1944: KenyaBishop Giuseppe Perrachon, I.M.C., Vicar Apostolic emeritus of Nyeri (Kenya)

Other Former Prelates (3)

1935: TanzaniaFr. Francesco Cagliero, I.M.C., Prefect Apostolic of Iringa (Tanzania)

1933: EthiopiaFr. Gaudenzio Barlassina, I.M.C., Prefect Apostolic of Kaffa (Ethiopia)

1930: KenyaFr. Giuseppe Balbo, I.M.C., Prefect Apostolic of Meru (Kenya)

as of 2018.11.17

© 2018 GCatholic.org