Bishops of Mozambique

by Liturgical Precedence

Date of
Bishop Ordinaries of Mozambique (21)
1975.03.09 (1988.06.28)Cardinal Alexandre José María dos Santos, O.F.M. (96)Cardinal Alexandre José María dos Santos, O.F.M. (96), Cardinal-Priest of S. Frumenzio ai Prati Fiscali and Metropolitan Archbishop emeritus of Maputo (Mozambique)
1976.10.24 (2015.02.14)Cardinal Júlio Duarte Langa (92)Cardinal Júlio Duarte Langa (92), Cardinal-Priest of S. Gabriele dell’Addolorata and Bishop emeritus of Xai-Xai (Mozambique)
1998.01.18 (2000.11.16)Archbishop Tomé Makhweliha, S.C.I. (75)Archbishop Tomé Makhweliha, S.C.I. (75), Metropolitan Archbishop emeritus of Nampula (Mozambique)
2001.02.25 (2003.02.22)Archbishop Francisco Chimoio, O.F.M. Cap. (72)Archbishop Francisco Chimoio, O.F.M. Cap. (72), Metropolitan Archbishop of Maputo (Mozambique)
2012.10.07 (2012.06.29)Archbishop Claudio Dalla Zuanna, S.C.I. (61)Archbishop Claudio Dalla Zuanna, S.C.I. (61), Metropolitan Archbishop of Beira (Mozambique)
2011.05.22 (2017.04.11)Archbishop Inácio Saure, I.M.C. (60)Archbishop Inácio Saure, I.M.C. (60), Metropolitan Archbishop of Nampula (Mozambique) and Vice-President of Episcopal Conference of Mozambique
1975.03.09Bishop Januário Machaze Nhangumbe (85)Bishop Januário Machaze Nhangumbe (85), Bishop emeritus of Pemba (Mozambique)
1988.06.26Bishop Francisco João Silota, M. Afr. (78)Bishop Francisco João Silota, M. Afr. (78), Bishop emeritus of Chimoio (Mozambique)
1990.06.03Bishop Germano Grachane, C.M. (78)Bishop Germano Grachane, C.M. (78), Bishop emeritus of Nacala (Mozambique)
1994.05.22Bishop Manuel Chuanguira Machado (69)Bishop Manuel Chuanguira Machado (69), Bishop emeritus of Gurué (Mozambique)
1998.02.22Bishop Adriano Langa, O.F.M. (73)Bishop Adriano Langa, O.F.M. (73), Bishop of Inhambane (Mozambique)
2003.06.15Bishop Hilário Da Cruz Massinga, O.F.M. (61)Bishop Hilário Da Cruz Massinga, O.F.M. (61), Bishop of Quelimane (Mozambique)
2004.10.24Bishop Lucio Andrice Muandula (60)Bishop Lucio Andrice Muandula (60), Bishop of Xai-Xai (Mozambique), President of Episcopal Conference of Mozambique, President of Inter-Regional Meeting of Bishops of Southern Africa and Second Vice-President of Symposium of Episcopal Conferences of Africa and Madagascar
2004.10.24Bishop Ernesto Maguengue (55)Bishop Ernesto Maguengue (55), Titular Bishop of Furnos minor and Auxiliary Bishop of Nampula (Mozambique)
2009.03.22Bishop Elio Greselin, S.C.I. (81)Bishop Elio Greselin, S.C.I. (81), Bishop emeritus of Lichinga (Mozambique)
2011.07.10Bishop João Carlos Hatoa Nunes (52)Bishop João Carlos Hatoa Nunes (52), Bishop of Chimoio (Mozambique)
2013.08.24Bishop Luiz Fernando Lisboa, C.P. (64)Bishop Luiz Fernando Lisboa, C.P. (64), Bishop of Pemba (Mozambique) and Secretary General of Episcopal Conference of Mozambique
2015.03.22Bishop Atanasio Amisse Canira (58)Bishop Atanasio Amisse Canira (58), Bishop of Lichinga (Mozambique)
2015.05.02Bishop Alberto Vera Aréjula, O. de M. (63)Bishop Alberto Vera Aréjula, O. de M. (63), Bishop of Nacala (Mozambique)
2019.02.17Bishop António Juliasse Ferreira Sandramo (52)Bishop António Juliasse Ferreira Sandramo (52), Titular Bishop of Arsennaria and Auxiliary Bishop of Maputo (Mozambique)
2019.05.12Bishop Diamantino Guapo Antunes, I.M.C. (53)Bishop Diamantino Guapo Antunes, I.M.C. (53), Bishop of Tete (Mozambique)

as of 2020.05.10

© 2020 GCatholic.org