Cardinals of India

Present Cardinals of India (5)
2012Cardinal Baselios Cleemis Thottunkal (57)Cardinal Baselios Cleemis Thottunkal (Baselios Cleemis Thottunkal) (57), Cardinal-Priest of S. Gregorio VII, Major Archbishop of Trivandrum of the Syro-Malankars (India), President of Catholic Bishops’ Conference of India and President of Synod of the Syro-Malankarese Church
2012Cardinal George Alencherry (72)Cardinal George Alencherry (72), Cardinal-Priest of S. Bernardo alle Terme, Major Archbishop of Ernakulam–Angamaly of the Syro-Malabars (India) and President of Synod of the Syro-Malabar Church
2007Cardinal Oswald Gracias (72)Cardinal Oswald Gracias (72), Cardinal-Priest of S. Paolo della Croce a «Corviale», Metropolitan Archbishop of Bombay (India), President of Conference of Catholic Bishops of India, President of Federation of Asian Bishops’ Conferences, Second Vice-President of “Vox Clara” Committee and Member of Council of Cardinals to assist in the governance of the Universal Church and to reform the Roman Curia
2003Cardinal Telesphore Placidus Toppo (77)Cardinal Telesphore Placidus Toppo (77), Cardinal-Priest of S. Cuore di Gesù agonizzante a Vitinia and Metropolitan Archbishop of Ranchi (India)
2001Cardinal Ivan Dias (81)Cardinal Ivan Dias (81), Cardinal-Priest of Spirito Santo alla Ferratella, Metropolitan Archbishop emeritus of Bombay (India), Prefect emeritus of Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples, President emeritus of Interdicasterial Commission for Consecrated Religious and Grand Chancellor emeritus of Pontifical Urbaniana University
Deceased Cardinals of India (9)
2001Cardinal Varkey Vithayathil, C.SS.R., former Major Archbishop of Ernakulam–Angamaly of the Syro-Malabars († 2011)
1988Cardinal Antony Padiyara, former Major Archbishop of Ernakulam–Angamaly of the Syro-Malabars († 2000)
Cardinal Simon Ignatius Pimenta, former Metropolitan Archbishop of Bombay († 2013)
1985Cardinal Duraisamy Simon Lourdusamy, former Prefect of Congregation for the Oriental Churches († 2014)
1976Cardinal Lawrence Trevor Picachy, S.J., former Metropolitan Archbishop of Calcutta († 1992)
1973Cardinal Joseph Marie Anthony Cordeiro († 1994)
1969Cardinal Joseph Parecattil, former Metropolitan of Ernakulam of the Syro-Malabars († 1987)
1962Cardinal José da Costa Nuñes (高若瑟), former Metropolitan Archbishop of Goa and Daman († 1976)
1953Cardinal Valerian Gracias, former Metropolitan Archbishop of Bombay († 1978)
Other Cardinals related to India (9)
2014ItalyCardinal Lorenzo Baldisseri (76)Cardinal Lorenzo Baldisseri (76)
2001ItalyCardinal Agostino Cacciavillan (90)Cardinal Agostino Cacciavillan (90)
1979ItalyCardinal Giuseppe Caprio (高理耀) († 2005)
1973AustraliaCardinal James Robert Knox († 1983)
1946USACardinal Edward Aloysius Mooney († 1958)
1933ItalyCardinal Pietro Fumasoni Biondi († 1960)
1903ItalyCardinal Andrea Aiuti († 1905)
1896ItalyCardinal Antonio Agliardi († 1915)
1893ItalyCardinal Ignazio Persico (德斯馬曾), O.F.M. Cap. († 1895)

as of 2017.04.23

See Also

College of Cardinals

© 2017 GCatholic.org