Catholic Church


Republic of Zimbabwe (Zimbabwe)


Also known as: Simbabwe (Deutsch), Zimbabue (español), le Zimbabwe (français), Zimbabwe (Italiano, polski, Português), 津巴布韋 (正體中文), ジンバブエ (日本語), Zimbabua (latine)

Formerly: Southern Rhodesia

Continent: Southern Africa

Capital: Harare

Neighbouring Countries: Botswana Botswana, ↖ Zambia Zambia, → Mozambique Mozambique, ↓ South Africa South Africa

By Type (8)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (2)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (6)

By Rite

Roman Rite (8): Bulawayo, Chinhoyi, Gokwe, Gweru, Harare, Hwange, Masvingo, Mutare

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

Apostolic Nunciature: Zimbabwe

Conference of Bishops: Zimbabwe Catholic Bishops’ Conference (Z.C.B.C.) Bishop Paul Horan, O. Carm. (60)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Inter-Regional Meeting of Bishops of Southern Africa (I.M.B.I.S.A.) Archbishop Liborius Ndumbukuti Nashenda, O.M.I. (64)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Symposium des Conférences Episcopales d’Afrique et de Madagascar (S.C.E.A.M.) Cardinal Fridolin Ambongo Besungu, O.F.M. Cap. (63)


Past Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (8)

Basilicas Basilicas (1)

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Catholic Population: 2,108,000 Catholics (12.7% of 16,559,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 272 parishes, 2,087 mission stations (21 with resident priest, 2,066 without resident priest), 6 other centres

Clergy: 14 bishops (7 diocesan, 7 titular), 617 priests (398 diocesan, 219 religious), 19 permanent deacons (17 diocesan, 2 religious)

Non-Clergy: 1,230 religious (131 brothers, 1,099 sisters), 388 major seminarians, 1 missionary, 4,804 catechists


Area: 386,847 km²

Population: 13,805,084

Religions: Protestant 74.8% (includes Apostolic 37.5%, Pentecostal 21.8%, other 15.5%), Roman Catholic 7.3%, other Christian 5.3%, traditional 1.5%, Muslim 0.5%, other 0.1%, none 10.5%

Languages: Shona (official; most widely spoken), Ndebele (official, second most widely spoken), English (official; traditionally used for official business), 13 minority languages (official; includes Chewa, Chibarwe, Kalanga, Koisan, Nambya, Ndau, Shangani, sign language, Sotho, Tonga, Tswana, Venda, and Xhosa)

Ethnic Groups: African 99.4% (predominantly Shona; Ndebele is the second largest ethnic group), other 0.4%, unspecified 0.2%

Motto: Unity, Freedom, Work (English)

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits

Last updated on 2023.09.25

© 2023