Catholic Church


Republic of South Africa (South Africa)

South Africa

Also known as: Südafrika (Deutsch), Sudáfrica (español), l’Afrique du Sud (français), Repubblica Sudafricana (Italiano), Republika Południowej Afryki (polski), África do Sul (Português), 南非 (正體中文), 南アフリカ (日本語), Africa Australis (latine)

Continent: Southern Africa

Capital: Pretoria

Area: 1,214,470 km²

Population: 54,841,552

Patron Saint: Our Lady of Assumption

Saints: 1 Blessed

Liturgical Calendar 📅

Religions: Protestant 36.6% (Zionist Christian 11.1%, Pentecostal/Charismatic 8.2%, Methodist 6.8%, Dutch Reformed 6.7%, Anglican 3.8%), Catholic 7.1%, Muslim 1.5%, other Christian 36%, other 2.3%, unspecified 1.4%, none 15.1%

Languages: isiZulu (official) 22.7%, isiXhosa (official) 16%, Afrikaans (official) 13.5%, English (official) 9.6%, Sepedi (official) 9.1%, Setswana (official) 8%, Sesotho (official) 7.6%, Xitsonga (official) 4.5%, siSwati (official) 2.5%, Tshivenda (official) 2.4%, isiNdebele (official) 2.1%, sign language 0.5%, other 1.6%

Ethnic Groups: black African 80.2%, white 8.4%, colored 8.8%, Indian/Asian 2.5%

Motto: (Unity in Diversity)

Neighbouring Countries: Bouvet Island Bouvet Island, ↖ Namibia Namibia, ↑ Botswana Botswana, ↗ Zimbabwe Zimbabwe, ↗ Mozambique Mozambique, → Eswatini Eswatini, ↘ Heard Island and McDonald Islands Heard Island and McDonald Islands, ☉ Lesotho Lesotho

Jurisdictions (27): Metr. Archdioceses Metr. Archdiocese (5), Dioceses Diocese (20), Military Ordinariates Military Ordinariate (1), Apostolic Vicariates Apostolic Vicariate (1)

Roman Rite (27): Aliwal, Bethlehem, Bloemfontein, Cape Town, De Aar, Dundee, Durban, Eshowe, Ingwavuma, Johannesburg, Keimoes–Upington, Kimberley, Klerksdorp, Kokstad, Kroonstad, Mariannhill, Mthatha, Oudtshoorn, Polokwane, Port Elizabeth, Pretoria, Queenstown, Rustenburg, South African Defence Force, Tzaneen, Umzimkulu, Witbank

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

CardinalsCardinals (0 electors/1 total): Cardinal Wilfrid Fox Napier, O.F.M. (82)Napier (82) | All Cardinals

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (29)

Documents and Celebrations Documents and Celebrations

Papal Visits

Apostolic Nunciature: South Africa

Conference of Bishops: Southern African Catholic Bishops’ Conference (S.A.C.B.C.) Bishop Sithembele Anton Sipuka (62)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Inter-Regional Meeting of Bishops of Southern Africa (I.M.B.I.S.A.) Archbishop Liborius Ndumbukuti Nashenda, O.M.I. (63)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Symposium des Conférences Episcopales d’Afrique et de Madagascar (S.C.E.A.M.) Cardinal Fridolin Ambongo Besungu, O.F.M. Cap. (63)

Last updated on 2023.03.17

© 2023