Catholic Church


Republic of China (Taiwan)


Also known as: Taiwán (español), Taïwan (français), Taiwan (Deutsch, Italiano), Tajwan (polski), Formosa (Português), 台灣(中華民國) (正體中文), 臺灣 (正體中文), 台湾(中华民国) (简体中文), 台湾 (日本語), Taiwanum (latine)

By Type (8)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (1)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (7)

By Rite

Roman Rite (8): Chiayi 嘉義, Hsinchu 新竹, Hualien 花蓮, Kaohsiung 高雄, Taichung 臺中, Tainan 臺南, Taipei 臺北, Xiamen 廈門

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

Apostolic Nunciature: China

Conference of Bishops: Chinese Regional Bishops’ Conference Bishop John Baptist Lee Keh-mien (65)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Asian Bishops’ Conferences (F.A.B.C.) Cardinal Charles Maung Bo, S.D.B. (75)


Past Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macau 臺港澳

Living Bishops 在世主教

All Bishops 歷任主教

All Churches

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (7)

Basilicas Basilicas (2)

National Shrines National Shrines (2)

Church Lists

Roman-Rite Church Shrines in the Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy


Saints: 1 Saint

Liturgical Calendar 📅

Documents Text


Continent: South and East Asia

Capital: Taipei

Area: 32,260 km²

Population: 23,508,428

Neighbouring Countries: China China, ↗ Japan Japan, ↓ Philippines Philippines

Cultural Summary

Religions: Buddhist 35.3%, Taoist 33.2%, Christian 3.9%, Taoist or Confucian folk religionist approximately 10%, none or unspecified 18.2%

Languages: Mandarin Chinese (official), Taiwanese (Min Nan), Hakka dialects

Ethnic Groups: more than 95% Han Chinese (including Hoklo, who compose approximately 70% of Taiwan's population, Hakka, and other groups originating in mainland China), 2.3% indigenous Malayo-Polynesian peoples

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Area: 35,961 km²

Catholic Population: 221,000 Catholics (0.9% of 23,507,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 424 parishes, 71 mission stations (34 with resident priest, 37 without resident priest), 8 other centres

Clergy: 14 bishops (5 diocesan, 9 titular), 575 priests (198 diocesan, 377 religious), 1 permanent deacon (religious)

Non-Clergy: 1,056 religious (19 brothers, 1,037 sisters), 90 members of secular institutes (sisters), 65 major seminarians, 282 missionaries, 225 catechists


Pastoral Centres




Consecrated Persons (Not Ordained)


Lay Missionaries


Last updated on 2023.11.30

© 2023