Catholic Church


Republic of Senegal (Senegal)


Also known as: Senegal (Deutsch, español, Italiano, polski, Português), le Sénégal (français), 塞內加爾 (正體中文), セネガル (日本語), Senegalia (latine)

Continent: Western and Northern Africa

Capital: Dakar

Area: 192,530 km²

Population: 13,635,927

Religions: Muslim 96.1% (most adhere to one of the four main Sufi brotherhoods), Christian 3.6% (mostly Roman Catholic), animist 0.3%

Languages: French (official), Wolof, Pular, Jola, Mandinka, Serer, Soninke

Ethnic Groups: Wolof 41.6%, Pular 28.1%, Serer 15.3%, Mandinka 5.4%, Jola 3.4%, Soninke 0.8%, other 5.4% (includes Europeans and persons of Lebanese descent)

Motto: Un peuple, un but, une foi (French) (One people, one goal, one faith)

Neighbouring Countries: Cape Verde Cape Verde, ↑ Mauritania Mauritania, → Mali Mali, ↘ Guinea Guinea, ↓ Gambia Gambia, ↓ Guinea-Bissau Guinea-Bissau

Circumscriptions (8): Metr. Archdioceses (1), Dioceses (7)

Roman Rite (7): Dakar, Kaolack, Kolda, Saint-Louis du Sénégal, Tambacounda, Thiès, Ziguinchor

Maronite Church (1): Annunciation of Ibadan

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Circumscriptions | Former Circumscriptions

CardinalsCardinals (0 electors/1 total): Cardinal Théodore-Adrien Sarr (82)Sarr (82) | All Cardinals

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (7), Basilicas Basilicas (1)

Documents and Celebrations Documents and Celebrations

Papal Visits

Apostolic Nunciature: Senegal Archbishop Michael Wallace Banach (56)

Conference of Bishops: Conférence des Evêques du Sénégal, de la Mauritanie, du Cap-Vert et de Guinée-Bissau Link Bishop José Câmnate na Bissign (65)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Regional Episcopal Conference of West Africa (R.E.C.O.W.A.) LinkLink Archbishop Ignatius Ayau Kaigama (60)

as of 2019.02.21

© 2019 GCatholic.org