Catholic Church


Republic of Paraguay (Paraguay)


Also known as: le Paraguay (français), Paraguay (Deutsch, español, Italiano), Paragwaj (polski), Paraguai (Português), 巴拉圭 (正體中文), パラグアイ (日本語), Paraguaia (latine)

Continent: South America

Capital: Asunción

Neighbouring Countries: Argentina Argentina, ↑ Bolivia Bolivia, → Brazil Brazil

By Type (15)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (1)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (11)

Military Ordinariates Military Ordinariate (1)

Apostolic Vicariates Apostolic Vicariate (2)

By Rite

Roman Rite (15): Asunción, Benjamín Aceval, Caacupé, Carapeguá, Chaco Paraguayo, Ciudad del Este, Concepción, Coronel Oviedo, Encarnación, Obispado de las Fuerzas Armadas y la Policia Nacional del Paraguay, Pilcomayo, San Juan Bautista, San Lorenzo, San Pedro, Villarrica

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

Apostolic Nunciature: Paraguay Archbishop Eliseo Antonio Ariotti (74)

Conference of Bishops: Conferencia Episcopal Paraguaya (C.E.P.) Cardinal Adalberto Martínez Flores (72)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consejo Episcopal Latinoamericano (C.E.L.A.M.) Archbishop Jaime Spengler, O.F.M. (62)

CardinalsCardinals (1 elector/1 total)

Cardinal Adalberto Martínez Flores (72)Adalberto Martínez Flores (72)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (15)

Basilicas Basilicas (2)

National Shrines National Shrines (3)

World Heritage Churches World Heritage Churches (2)


Patron Saints: Nuestra Señora de Caacupé, Saint Blaise of Sebaste

Saints: 1 Saint, 1 Blessed

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Catholic Population: 6,956,000 Catholics (94.6% of 7,353,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 425 parishes, 13 mission stations (5 with resident priest, 8 without resident priest), 1,128 other centres

Clergy: 21 bishops (12 diocesan, 9 titular), 912 priests (414 diocesan, 498 religious), 308 permanent deacons (299 diocesan, 9 religious)

Non-Clergy: 1,555 religious (432 brothers, 1,123 sisters), 45 members of secular institutes (1 brother, 44 sisters), 518 major seminarians, 8,586 missionaries, 58,457 catechists


Area: 397,302 km²

Population: 6,943,739

Religions: Roman Catholic 89.6%, Protestant 6.2%, other Christian 1.1%, other or unspecified 1.9%, none 1.1%

Languages: Spanish (official), Guarani (official)

Ethnic Groups: mestizo (mixed Spanish and Amerindian) 95%, other 5%

Motto: Paz y justicia (Spanish) (Peace and justice)

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits

Last updated on 2023.08.25

© 2023