Catholic Church


Commonwealth of Puerto Rico (Puerto Rico)

(Territory of USA USA)

Puerto Rico

Also known as: Puerto Rico (Deutsch, español), Porto Rico (français, Italiano, Português), Portoryko (polski), 波多黎各 (正體中文), プエルトリコ (日本語), Portus Dives (latine)

Continent: Central America

Capital: San Juan

Population: 3,620,897

Area: 8,870 km²

Patron Saint: Nuestra Señora de la Divina Providencia (November 19)

Religions: Roman Catholic 85%, Protestant and other 15%

Languages: Spanish, English

Neighbouring Countries: Dominican Republic Dominican Republic, → U.S. Virgin Islands U.S. Virgin Islands, → British Virgin Islands British Virgin Islands

Circumscriptions (6): Metr. Archdioceses (1), Dioceses (5)

Roman Rite (6): Arecibo, Caguas, Fajardo–Humacao, Mayagüez, Ponce, San Juan de Puerto Rico

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Circumscriptions | Former Circumscriptions

CardinalsCardinals: Past Cardinals

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

All Churches All Churches
Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (7), Basilicas Basilicas (2), National Shrines National Shrines (1)

Roman-Rite Church Historic Catholic Churches in Puerto Rico
Roman-Rite Church Congregations of Benedictine Monks in North America

Documents and Celebrations Documents and Celebrations

Papal Visits

Apostolic Delegation: Puerto Rico Link Archbishop Ghaleb Moussa Abdalla Bader (66)

Conference of Bishops: Conferencia Episcopal Puertorriqueña (C.E.P.) Link Archbishop Roberto Octavio González Nieves, O.F.M. (67)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consejo Episcopal Latinoamericano (C.E.L.A.M.) LinkTwitter Feed Cardinal Jesús Rubén Salazar Gómez (75)

as of 2017.10.14

© 2017 GCatholic.org