Catholic Church


Territory of French Polynesia (French Polynesia)

(Overseas Collectivitity of France France)

French Polynesia

Also known as: Französisch-Polynesien (Deutsch), Polinesia Francesa (español), Polynésie française (français), Polinesia francese (Italiano), Polinezja Francuska (polski), Polinésia Francesa (Português), 法屬波利尼西亞 (正體中文), フランス領ポリネシア (日本語), Polynesia Francica (latine)

Formerly: Oceania

Continent: Oceania

Capital: Papeete

Area: 3827 km²

Population: 287,881

Religions: Protestant 54%, Roman Catholic 30%, other 10%, no religion 6%

Languages: French (official) 70%, Polynesian (official) 28.2%, other 1.8%

Ethnic Groups: Polynesian 78%, Chinese 12%, local French 6%, metropolitan French 4%

Neighbouring Countries: Cook Islands Cook Islands, ↖ Kiribati Kiribati, → Pitcairn Islands Pitcairn Islands

Jurisdictions (2): Metr. Archdioceses Metr. Archdiocese (1), Dioceses Diocese (1)

Roman Rite (2): Papeete, Taiohae

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

All Churches All Churches
Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (3)

Apostolic Delegation: Pacific Ocean Archbishop Novatus Rugambwa (64)

Conference of Bishops: Conferentia Episcopalis Pacifici (C.E. PAC.) Link Bishop Paul Patrick Donoghue, S.M. (73)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Catholic Bishops’ Conferences of Oceania (F.C.B.C.O.) Archbishop Peter Loy Chong (60)

as of 2022.01.18

© 2022 GCatholic.org