Catholic Church


Republic of Nicaragua (Nicaragua)


Also known as: Nicaragua (Deutsch, español, Italiano, latine), le Nicaragua (français), Nikaragua (polski), Nicarágua (Português), 尼加拉瓜 (正體中文), ニカラグア (日本語)

Continent: Central America

Capital: Managua

Area: 119,990 km²

Population: 6,025,951

Patron Saints: Saint James Major, Our Lady of El Viejo

Saints: 1 Blessed

Religions: Roman Catholic 50%, Evangelical 33.2%, other 2.9%, unspecified 13.2%, none 0.7%

Languages: Spanish (official) 95.3%, Miskito 2.2%, Mestizo of the Caribbean coast 2%, other 0.5%

Ethnic Groups: mestizo (mixed Amerindian and white) 69%, white 17%, black 9%, Amerindian 5%

Motto: En Dios Confiamos (Spanish) (In God We Trust)

Neighbouring Countries: El Salvador El Salvador, ↖ Honduras Honduras, ↓ Costa Rica Costa Rica

Jurisdictions (9): Metr. Archdioceses Metr. Archdiocese (1), Dioceses Diocese (8)

Roman Rite (9): Bluefields, Estelí, Granada, Jinotega, Juigalpa, León, Managua, Matagalpa, Siuna

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

CardinalsCardinals (1 elector/1 total): Cardinal Leopoldo José Brenes Solórzano (74)Brenes Solórzano (74) | All Cardinals

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (10), Basilicas Basilicas (3), National Shrines National Shrines (4)

Documents and Celebrations Documents and Celebrations

Papal Visits

Apostolic Nunciature: Nicaragua

Conference of Bishops: Conferencia Episcopal de Nicaragua (C.E.N.) Bishop Carlos Enrique Herrera Gutiérrez, O.F.M. (74)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Secretariado Episcopal de América Central y Panamá (S.E.D.A.C.) Bishop Roberto Camilleri Azzopardi, O.F.M. (72)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consejo Episcopal Latinoamericano (C.E.L.A.M.) Archbishop Jaime Spengler, O.F.M. (62)

Last updated on 2023.05.19

© 2023