Catholic Church


Territory of New Caledonia and Dependencies (New Caledonia)

(Special Collectivity of France France)

New Caledonia

Also known as: Neukaledonien (Deutsch), Nueva Caledonia (español), Nouvelle-Calédonie (français), Nuova Caledonia (Italiano), Nowa Kaledonia (polski), Nova Caledónia (Português), 新喀里多尼亞 (正體中文), ニューカレドニア (日本語), Nova Caledonia (latine)

Continent: Oceania

Capital: Nouméa

Area: 18,275 km²

Population: 279,070

Religions: Roman Catholic 60%, Protestant 30%, other 10%

Languages: French (official), 33 Melanesian-Polynesian dialects

Ethnic Groups: Kanak 39.1%, European 27.1%, Wallisian, Futunian 8.2%, Tahitian 2.1%, Indonesian 1.4%, Ni-Vanuatu 1%, Vietnamese 0.9%, other 17.7%, unspecified 2.5%

Neighbouring Countries: Australia Australia, ↑ Vanuatu Vanuatu, → Fiji Fiji, ↓ New Zealand New Zealand, ↓ Norfolk Island Norfolk Island

Circumscriptions (1): Metr. Archdioceses (1)

Roman Rite (1): Nouméa

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Circumscriptions | Former Circumscriptions

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (1)

Roman-Rite Church Shrines in the Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy

Apostolic Delegation: Pacific Ocean Archbishop Novatus Rugambwa (61)

Conference of Bishops: Conferentia Episcopalis Pacifici (C.E. PAC.) Link Bishop Paul Patrick Donoghue, S.M. (70)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Catholic Bishops’ Conferences of Oceania (F.C.B.C.O.) Archbishop Peter Loy Chong (58)

as of 2019.04.19

© 2019 GCatholic.org