Catholic Church


Republic of Mauritius (Mauritius)


Also known as: Mauricio (español), Maurice (français), Mauritius (Deutsch, Italiano, polski, latine), Maurícia (Português), 毛里裘斯 (正體中文), モーリシャス (日本語), Mauritia (latine)

Continent: Southern Africa

Capital: Port Louis

Area: 2,030 km²

Population: 1,356,388

Saints: 1 Blessed

Religions: Hindu 48.5%, Roman Catholic 26.3%, Muslim 17.3%, other Christian 6.4%, other 0.6%, none 0.7%, unspecified 0.1%

Languages: Creole 86.5%, Bhojpuri 5.3%, French 4.1%, two languages 1.4%, other 2.6% (includes English, the official language of the National Assembly, which is spoken by less than 1% of the population), unspecified 0.1%

Ethnic Groups: Indo-Mauritian (compose approximately two thirds of the total population), Creole, Sino-Mauritian, Franco-Mauritian

Motto: Stella Clavisque Maris Indici (Latin) (Star and key of the Indian Ocean)

Neighbouring Countries: Réunion Réunion, ← Madagascar Madagascar, ↗ British Indian Ocean Territory British Indian Ocean Territory, ↘ French Southern Territories French Southern Territories

Jurisdictions (2): Dioceses Diocese (1), Apostolic Vicariates Apostolic Vicariate (1)

Roman Rite (2): Port-Louis, Rodrigues

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

CardinalsCardinals (0 electors/1 total): Cardinal Maurice Piat, C.S.Sp. (81)Piat (81) | All Cardinals

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (2)

Celebrations Celebrations

Papal Visits

Apostolic Nunciature: Mauritius

Conference of Bishops: Conférence Episcopale de l’Océan Indien (CEDOI) Cardinal Maurice Piat, C.S.Sp. (81)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Symposium des Conférences Episcoaples d’Afrique et de Madagascar (S.C.E.A.M.) Link Bishop Richard Kuuia Baawobr, M. Afr. (63)

as of 2022.08.08

© 2022