Catholic Church


Kingdom of Morocco (Morocco)


Also known as: Marokko (Deutsch), Marruecos (español), le Maroc (français), Marocco (Italiano), Maroko (polski), Marrocos (Português), 摩洛哥 (正體中文), モロッコ (日本語), Marocum (latine)

Continent: Western and Northern Africa

Capital: Rabat

Area: 446,300 km²

Population: 33,986,655

Saints: 14 Saints, 1 Blessed

Religions: Muslim 99% (official; virtually all Sunni, <0.1% Shia), other 1% (includes Christian, Jewish, and Baha'i); note - Jewish about 6,000

Languages: Arabic (official), Berber languages (Tamazight (official), Tachelhit, Tarifit), French (often the language of business, government, and diplomacy)

Ethnic Groups: Arab-Berber 99%, other 1%

Motto: Allāh, al Waṭan, al Malik (Arabic) (God, Homeland, King)

Neighbouring Countries: Western Sahara Western Sahara, ↖ Portugal Portugal, ↑ Gibraltar Gibraltar, ↑ Spain Spain, → Algeria Algeria

Jurisdictions (2): Archdioceses Archdiocese (2)

Roman Rite (2): Rabat, Tánger

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

CardinalsCardinals (1 elector/1 total): Cardinal Cristóbal López Romero, S.D.B. (70)López Romero (70) | All Cardinals

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (2), World Heritage Churches World Heritage Churches (1)

Documents and Celebrations Documents and Celebrations

Papal Visits

Apostolic Nunciature: Morocco Archbishop Vito Rallo (69)

Conference of Bishops: Conférence Episcopale Régionale du Nord de l’Afrique (C.E.R.N.A.) Cardinal Cristóbal López Romero, S.D.B. (70)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Symposium des Conférences Episcopales d’Afrique et de Madagascar (S.C.E.A.M.) Cardinal Fridolin Ambongo Besungu, O.F.M. Cap. (63)

Last updated on 2023.03.17

© 2023