Catholic Church




Also known as: Libyen (Deutsch), la Libye (français), Libia (español, Italiano, polski), Líbia (Português), 利比亞 (正體中文), リビア (日本語), Libya (latine)

Continent: Western and Northern Africa

Capital: Tripoli

Area: 1,759,540 km²

Population: 6,653,210

Saints: 10 Saints

Religions: Muslim (official; virtually all Sunni) 96.6%, Christian 2.7%, Buddhist 0.3%, Hindu <0.1%, Jewish <0.1%, folk religion <0.1%, unafilliated 0.2%, other <0.1%

Languages: Arabic (official), Italian, English (all widely understood in the major cities); Berber (Nafusi, Ghadamis, Suknah, Awjilah, Tamasheq)

Ethnic Groups: Berber and Arab 97%, other 3% (includes Greeks, Maltese, Italians, Egyptians, Pakistanis, Turks, Indians, and Tunisians)

Neighbouring Countries: Niger Niger, ← Algeria Algeria, ↖ Tunisia Tunisia, → Egypt Egypt, ↘ Sudan Sudan, ↓ Chad Chad

Circumscriptions (4): Apostolic Vicariates (3), Apostolic Prefectures (1)

Roman Rite (4): Benghazi, Derna, Misurata, Tripoli

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Circumscriptions | Former Circumscriptions

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (2)

Apostolic Nunciature: Libya Archbishop Alessandro D’Errico (70)

Conference of Bishops: Conférence Episcopale Régionale du Nord de l’Afrique (C.E.R.N.A.) Archbishop Paul Desfarges, S.J. (76)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Symposium des Conférences Episcoaples d’Afrique et de Madagascar (S.C.E.A.M.) Link Cardinal Philippe Nakellentuba Ouédraogo (76)

as of 2021.04.13

© 2021 GCatholic.org