Catholic Church


Cayman Islands

(Overseas Territory of United Kingdom United Kingdom)

Cayman Islands

Also known as: Kaimaninseln (Deutsch), Islas Caimán (español), Îles Caïmans (français), Isole Cayman (Italiano), Kajmany (polski), Ilhas Cayman (Português), 開曼群島 (正體中文), ケイマン諸島 (日本語)

Continent: Central America

Capital: George Town

Area: 264 km²

Population: 58,441

Religions: Protestant 67.8% (includes Church of God 22.6%, Seventh Day Adventist 9.4%, Presbyterian/United Church 8.6%, Baptist 8.3%, Pentecostal 7.1%, non-denominational 5.3%, Anglican 4.1%, Wesleyan Holiness 2.4%), Roman Catholic 14.1%, Jehovah's Witness 1.1%, other 7%, none 9.3%, unspecified 0.7%

Languages: English (official) 90.9%, Spanish 4%, Filipino 3.3%, other 1.7%, unspecified 0.1%

Ethnic Groups: mixed 40%, white 20%, black 20%, expatriates of various ethnic groups 20%

Neighbouring Countries: Cuba Cuba, → Jamaica Jamaica

Jurisdictions (1): Missions “sui juris” Independent Mission (1)

Roman Rite (1): Cayman Islands

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

CardinalsCardinals: Past Cardinals

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

All Churches All Churches

Apostolic Delegation: Antilles Archbishop Santiago De Wit Guzmán (58)

Conference of Bishops: Antilles Episcopal Conference (A.E.C.) Archbishop Charles Jason Gordon (64)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consejo Episcopal Latinoamericano (C.E.L.A.M.) Archbishop Jaime Spengler, O.F.M. (62)

Last updated on 2023.05.19

© 2023