Catholic Church


Union of the Comoros (Comoros)


Also known as: Komoren (Deutsch), Comoras (español), les Comores (français), Comore (Italiano), Komory (polski), Comores (Português), 科摩羅 (正體中文), コモロ (日本語), Insulae Comorianae (latine)

Continent: Southern Africa

Capital: Moroni

Area: 2,235 km²

Population: 808,080

Religions: Sunni Muslim 98%, other (including Shia Muslim, Roman Catholic, Jehovah's Witness, Protestant) 2%

Languages: Arabic (official), French (official), Shikomoro (official; a blend of Swahili and Arabic) (Comorian)

Ethnic Groups: Antalote, Cafre, Makoa, Oimatsaha, Sakalava

Motto: Unité, Justice, Progrès (French) (Unity, justice, progress)

Neighbouring Countries: Mozambique Mozambique, → Mayotte Mayotte

Circumscriptions (1): Apostolic Vicariates (1)

Roman Rite (1): Archipel des Comores

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Circumscriptions | Former Circumscriptions

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

All Churches All Churches

Apostolic Delegation: Comoro Islands Archbishop Paolo Rocco Gualtieri (57)

Conference of Bishops: Conférence Episcopale de l’Océan Indien (CEDOI) Bishop Gilbert Guillaume Marie-Jean Aubry (76)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Symposium des Conférences Episcoaples d’Afrique et de Madagascar (S.C.E.A.M.) Link Archbishop Gabriel Mbilingi, C.S.Sp. (61)

as of 2019.01.18

© 2019 GCatholic.org