Catholic Church


Cooperative Republic of Guyana (Guyana)


Also known as: le Guyana (français), Guyana (Deutsch, español, Italiano, polski, Português), 圭亞那 (正體中文), ガイアナ (日本語), Guiana (latine)

Formerly: British Guiana

Continent: South America

Capital: Georgetown

Area: 196,849 km²

Population: 735,554

Religions: Protestant 34.8% (Pentecostal 22.8%, Seventh Day Adventist 5.4%, Anglican 5.2%, Methodist 1.4%), Hindu 24.8%, Roman Catholic 7.1%, Muslim 6.8%, Jehovah's Witness 1.3%, Rastafarian 0.5%, other Christian 20.8%, other 0.9%, none 3.1%

Languages: English (official), Guyanese Creole, Amerindian languages (including Caribbean and Arawak languages), Indian languages (including Caribbean Hindustani, a dialect of Hindi), Chinese

Ethnic Groups: East Indian 39.8%, black (African) 29.3%, mixed 19.9%, Amerindian 10.5%, other 0.5% (includes Portuguese, Chinese, white)

Motto: One People, One Nation, One Destiny (English)

Neighbouring Countries: Venezuela Venezuela, → Suriname Suriname, ↓ Brazil Brazil

Jurisdictions (1): Dioceses Diocese (1)

Roman Rite (1): Georgetown

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (1)

Apostolic Nunciature: Guyana Archbishop Santiago De Wit Guzmán (57)

Conference of Bishops: Antilles Episcopal Conference (A.E.C.) Link Archbishop Gabriel Malzaire (64)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consejo Episcopal Latinoamericano (C.E.L.A.M.) LinkTwitter Feed Archbishop Héctor Miguel Cabrejos Vidarte, O.F.M. (74)

as of 2022.07.31

© 2022