Catholic Church


United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (United Kingdom)

Also known as: Vereinigtes Königreich (Deutsch), Reino Unido (español, Português), le Royaume-Uni (français), Regno Unito (Italiano), Wielka Brytania (polski), 英國 (正體中文), イギリス (日本語), Britanniarum Regnum (latine)

Dependencies: Anguilla Anguilla, Bermuda Bermuda, British Indian Ocean Territory British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands Falkland Islands, Gibraltar Gibraltar, Guernsey Guernsey, Isle of Man Isle of Man, Jersey Jersey, Montserrat Montserrat, Pitcairn Islands Pitcairn Islands, Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands Turks and Caicos Islands

Continent: West Europe

Capital: London

Population: 63,742,977

Area: 241,590 km²

Patron Saints: St. George (England), St. David (Wales), St. Andrew (Scotland)

Religions: Christian (includes Anglican, Roman Catholic, Presbyterian, Methodist) 59.5%, Muslim 4.4%, Hindu 1.3%, other 2%, none 25.7%, unspecified 7.2%

Languages: English, Scots (about 30% of the population of Scotland), Scottish Gaelic (about 60,000 in Scotland), Welsh (about 20% of the population of Wales), Irish (about 10% of the population of Northern Ireland), Cornish (some 2,000 to 3,000 in Cornwall)

Motto: Dieu et mon droit (Latin) (God and my right)

Neighbouring Countries: Ireland Ireland, ← Isle of Man Isle of Man, ↖ Iceland Iceland, ↑ Faroe Islands Faroe Islands, ↗ Norway Norway, → Netherlands Netherlands, ↘ Belgium Belgium, ↓ France France, ↓ Jersey Jersey, ↓ Guernsey Guernsey

Circumscriptions (39): Metr. Archdioceses (8), Dioceses (29), Military Ordinariates (1), Personal Ordinariates (1)

Roman Rite (37): Aberdeen, Argyll and the Isles, Armagh, Arundel and Brighton, Birmingham, Brentwood, Cardiff, Catholic Bishopric of the Forces in Great Britain, Clifton, Clogher, Derry, Down and Connor, Dromore, Dunkeld, East Anglia, Galloway, Glasgow, Hallam, Hexham and Newcastle, Kilmore, Lancaster, Leeds, Liverpool, Menevia, Middlesbrough, Motherwell, Northampton, Nottingham, Paisley, Plymouth, Portsmouth, Saint Andrews and Edinburgh, Salford, Shrewsbury, Southwark, Westminster, Wrexham

Anglican Rite (1): Our Lady of Walsingham

Ukrainian Church (1): Holy Family of London

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Circumscriptions | Former Circumscriptions

CardinalsCardinals (2 electors/3 total): Cardinal Cormac Murphy-O’Connor (82)Murphy-O’Connor (82), Cardinal Vincent Gerard Nichols (69)Nichols (69), Cardinal Keith Michael Patrick O’Brien (77)O’Brien (77) | All Cardinals

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (40), Basilicas Basilicas (3), National Shrines National Shrines (4), World Heritage Churches World Heritage Churches (1)

Documents and Celebrations Documents and Celebrations

Papal Visits

Apostolic Nunciature: Great Britain Archbishop Antonio Mennini (67)

Apostolic Nunciature: Ireland Link Archbishop Charles John Brown (55)

Conference of Bishops: Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales Link Cardinal Vincent Gerard Nichols (69)

Conference of Bishops: Irish Episcopal Conference Link Archbishop Eamon Martin (53)

Conference of Bishops: Bishops’ Conference of Scotland Link Archbishop Philip Tartaglia (64)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Commissio Episcopatuum Communitatis Europææ (COM.E.C.E.) Link Cardinal Reinhard Marx (61)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consilium Conferentiarum Episcopalium Europæ (C.C.E.E.) Link Cardinal Péter Erdő (62)

as of 2015.04.25

© 2015 GCatholic.org