Catholic Church


Western Sahara

Western Sahara

Also known as: Westsahara (Deutsch), Sahara Occidental (español), le Sahara occidental (français), Sahara Occidentale (Italiano), Sahara Zachodnia (polski), Saara Ocidental (Português), 西撒哈拉 (正體中文), 西サハラ (日本語), Sahara Occidentalis (latine)

Formerly: Spanish Sahara

Continent: Western and Northern Africa

Capital: Al aaiun

Area: 266,000 km²

Population: 603,253

Religions: Muslim

Languages: Standard Arabic, Hassaniya Arabic, Moroccan Arabic, Berber, Spanish, French

Ethnic Groups: Arab, Berber

Neighbouring Countries: Morocco Morocco, → Algeria Algeria, ↘ Mauritania Mauritania

Circumscriptions (1): Apostolic Prefectures (1)

Roman Rite (1): Western Sahara

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Circumscriptions | Former Circumscriptions

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (1)

Conference of Bishops: Conférence Episcopale Régionale du Nord de l’Afrique (C.E.R.N.A.) Archbishop Paul Desfarges, S.J. (74)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Symposium des Conférences Episcoaples d’Afrique et de Madagascar (S.C.E.A.M.) Link Archbishop Gabriel Mbilingi, C.S.Sp. (61)

as of 2019.03.22

© 2019 GCatholic.org