Catholic Church


Cook Islands

(Associated Country of New Zealand New Zealand)

Cook Islands

Also known as: Cookinseln (Deutsch), Islas Cook (español), Îles Cook (français), Isole Cook (Italiano), Wyspy Cooka (polski), Ilhas Cook (Português), 庫克群島 (正體中文), クック諸島 (日本語), Insulæ Cook (latine)

Continent: Oceania

Capital: Avarua

Area: 236 km²

Population: 9,290

Religions: Protestant 62.8% (Cook Islands Christian Church 49.1%, Seventh Day Adventist 7.9%, Assemblies of God 3.7%, Apostolic Church 2.1%), Roman Catholic 17%, Mormon 4.4%, other 8%, none 5.6%, no response 2.2%

Languages: English (official) 86.4%, Cook Islands Maori (Rarotongan) (official) 76.2%, other 8.3%

Ethnic Groups: Cook Island Maori (Polynesian) 81.3%, part Cook Island Maori 6.7%, other 11.9%

Neighbouring Countries: Niue Niue, ↖ American Samoa American Samoa, ↖ Tokelau Tokelau, ↑ Kiribati Kiribati, → French Polynesia French Polynesia

Jurisdictions (1): Dioceses Diocese (1)

Roman Rite (1): Rarotonga

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (1)

Apostolic Nunciature: Cook Island Archbishop Novatus Rugambwa (64)

Conference of Bishops: Conferentia Episcopalis Pacifici (C.E. PAC.) Link Bishop Paul Patrick Donoghue, S.M. (73)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Catholic Bishops’ Conferences of Oceania (F.C.B.C.O.) Archbishop Peter Loy Chong (61)

as of 2022.07.11

© 2022