Catholic Church


Kingdom of Belgium (Belgium)


Also known as: Belgien (Deutsch), Bélgica (español, Português), la Belgique (français), Belgio (Italiano), Belgia (polski), België (Nederlands), 比利時 (正體中文), ベルギー (日本語), Belgica (latine)

Continent: West Europe

Capital: Brussels

Neighbouring Countries: England England, ↑ Netherlands Netherlands, → Germany Germany, ↘ Luxembourg Luxembourg, ↓ France France

By Type (10)

Metropolitan Sees (Archdioceses) Metr. Archdiocese (1)

Episcopal Sees (Dioceses) Diocese (8)

Military Ordinariates Military Ordinariate (1)

By Rite

Roman Rite (9): Antwerpen, Bisdom bij de Krijgsmacht, Brugge, Gent, Hasselt, Liège, Mechelen–Brussel, Namur, Tournai

Ukrainian Church (1): Saint-Vladimir-le-Grand de Paris

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

Apostolic Nunciature: Belgium Archbishop Franco Coppola (66)

Apostolic Nunciature: European Union Archbishop Noël Treanor (72)

Holy See Representation: International Committee of Military Medicine (ICMM) Fr. Robrecht Boone (68)

Conference of Bishops: Bisschoppenconferentie van België Cardinal Jozef De Kesel (76)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Commissio Episcopatuum Communitatis Europææ (COM.E.C.E.) Bishop Mariano Crociata (70)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Consilium Conferentiarum Episcopalium Europæ (C.C.E.E.) Archbishop Gintaras Linas Grušas (61)

CardinalsCardinals (1 elector/1 total)

Cardinal Jozef De Kesel (76)Jozef De Kesel (76)

All Cardinals


By Age

By Name

By Precedence


Recent Events

Special Churches

Cathedrals Cathedrals (13)

Basilicas Basilicas (30)

National Shrines National Shrines (1)

World Heritage Churches World Heritage Churches (9)

Church Lists

Roman-Rite Church Shrines in the Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy


Patron Saint: Saint Joseph (March 19)

Saints: 91 Saints, 19 Blesseds

Liturgical Calendar 📅

Statistics (2021.12.31)

Catholic Population: 8,316,000 Catholics (72.0% of 11,555,000 total)

Pastoral Centres: 3,681 parishes, 434 other centres

Clergy: 23 bishops (8 diocesan, 15 titular), 3,925 priests (2,202 diocesan, 1,723 religious), 572 permanent deacons (563 diocesan, 9 religious)

Non-Clergy: 5,799 religious (370 brothers, 5,429 sisters), 93 members of secular institutes (sisters), 199 major seminarians, 37 missionaries, 8,814 catechists


Area: 30,278 km²

Population: 11,491,346

Religions: Roman Catholic 50%, Protestant and other Christian 2.5%, Muslim 5%, Jewish 0.4%, Buddhist 0.3%, atheist 9.2%, none 32.6%

Languages: Dutch (official) 60%, French (official) 40%, German (official) less than 1%

Ethnic Groups: Belgian 75%, Italian 4.1%, Moroccan 3.7%, French 2.4%, Turkish 2%, Dutch 2%, other 12.8%

Motto: Eendracht maakt macht (Dutch), L'union fait la force (French), Einigkeit gibt Stärke (German) (Unity gives Strength)

Documents and Celebrations Text

Papal Visits

Last updated on 2023.09.06

© 2023