Catholic Church


Commonwealth of Australia (Australia)


Also known as: Australien (Deutsch), Australia (español, Italiano, polski, latine), l’Australie (français), Austrália (Português), 澳洲 (正體中文), オーストラリア (日本語)

Dependencies: Christmas Island Christmas Island, Cocos Islands Cocos Islands, Heard Island and McDonald Islands Heard Island and McDonald Islands, Norfolk Island Norfolk Island

Continent: Oceania

Capital: Canberra

Area: 7,682,300 km²

Population: 23,232,413

Patron Saint: Our Lady Help of Christians (May 24)

Saints: 1 Saint

Liturgical Calendar 📅

Religions: Protestant 23.1% (Anglican 13.3%, Uniting Church 3.7%, Presbyterian and Reformed 2.3%, Baptist 1.5%, Pentecostal 1.1%, Lutheran .7%, other Protestant .5%), Roman Catholic 22.6%, other Christian 4.2%, Muslim 2.6%, Buddhist 2.4%, Orthodox 2.3% (Eastern Orthodox 2.1%, Oriental Orthodox .2%), Hindu 1.9%, other 1.3%, none 30.1%, unspecified 9.6%

Languages: English 72.7%, Mandarin 2.5%, Arabic 1.4%, Cantonese 1.2%, Vietnamese 1.2%, Italian 1.2%, Greek 1%, other 14.8%, unspecified 6.5%

Ethnic Groups: English 25.9%, Australian 25.4%, Irish 7.5%, Scottish 6.4%, Italian 3.3%, German 3.2%, Chinese 3.1%, Indian 1.4%, Greek 1.4%, Dutch 1.2%, other 15.8% (includes Australian aboriginal .5%), unspecified 5.4%

Neighbouring Countries: Cocos Islands Cocos Islands, ↖ Christmas Island Christmas Island, ↖ Indonesia Indonesia, ↑ Timor-Leste Timor-Leste, ↑ Papua New Guinea Papua New Guinea, ↗ Vanuatu Vanuatu, → New Caledonia New Caledonia, ↘ New Zealand New Zealand

Jurisdictions (35): Metr. Archdioceses Metr. Archdiocese (5), Archdioceses Archdiocese (2), Dioceses Diocese (26), Military Ordinariates Military Ordinariate (1), Personal Ordinariates Personal Ordinariate (1)

Roman Rite (29): Adelaide, Armidale, Ballarat, Bathurst, Brisbane, Broken Bay, Broome, Bunbury, Cairns, Canberra and Goulburn, Darwin, Geraldton, Hobart, Lismore, Maitland–Newcastle, Melbourne, Military Ordinariate of Australia, Parramatta, Perth, Port Pirie, Rockhampton, Sale, Sandhurst, Sydney, Toowoomba, Townsville, Wagga Wagga, Wilcannia–Forbes, Wollongong

Anglican Rite (1): Our Lady of the Southern Cross

Chaldean Church (1): Saint Thomas the Apostle of Sydney

Greek-Melkite Church (1): Saint Michael’s of Sydney

Maronite Church (1): Saint Maron of Sydney

Syro-Malabar Church (1): Saint Thomas the Apostle of Melbourne

Ukrainian Church (1): Saints Peter and Paul of Melbourne

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

CardinalsCardinals: Past Cardinals

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

All Churches All Churches
Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (44), Basilicas Basilicas (5), National Shrines National Shrines (4)

Roman-Rite Church Seminaries in Australia

Documents and Celebrations Documents and Celebrations

Papal Visits

Apostolic Nunciature: Australia Archbishop Charles Daniel Balvo (71)

Conference of Bishops: Australian Catholic Bishops Conference Archbishop Timothy John Costelloe, S.D.B. (69)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Catholic Bishops’ Conferences of Oceania (F.C.B.C.O.) Bishop Anthony Randazzo (56)

Last updated on 2023.03.17

© 2023