Catholic Church


American Samoa

(Unincorporated Territory of USA USA)

American Samoa

Also known as: Amerikanisch-Samoa (Deutsch), Samoa Americana (español, Português, latine), Samoa américaines (français), Samoa Americane (Italiano), Samoa Amerykańskie (polski), Amerika Sāmoa (Samoan), 美屬薩摩亞 (正體中文), アメリカ領サモア (日本語)

Continent: Oceania

Capital: Pago Pago

Area: 224 km²

Population: 51,504

Liturgical Calendar 📅

Religions: Christian 98.3%, other 1%, unaffiliated 0.7%

Languages: Samoan 88.6% (closely related to Hawaiian and other Polynesian languages), English 3.9%, Tongan 2.7%, other Pacific islander 3%, other 1.8%

Ethnic Groups: Pacific Islander 92.6% (includes Samoan 88.9%, Tongan 2.9%, other .8%), Asian 3.6% (includes Filipino 2.2%, other 1.4%), mixed 2.7%, other 1.2%

Neighbouring Countries: Tonga Tonga, ← Samoa Samoa, ↑ Tokelau Tokelau, ↘ Cook Islands Cook Islands

Jurisdictions (1): Dioceses Diocese (1)

Roman Rite (1): Samoa–Pago Pago

by Type | by Name | by Ecclesiastical Province
Changes in Jurisdictions | Former Jurisdictions

CardinalsCardinals: Past Cardinals

BishopsBishops: by Age | by Name | by Precedence | Jubilarians | Recent Events

All Churches All Churches
Special Churches Special Churches: Cathedrals Cathedrals (2)

Celebrations Celebrations

Papal Visits

Apostolic Delegation: Pacific Ocean Archbishop Novatus Rugambwa (65)

Conference of Bishops: Conferentia Episcopalis Pacifici (C.E. PAC.) Bishop Paul Patrick Donoghue, S.M. (74)

International Meeting of Bishops’ Conferences: Federation of Catholic Bishops’ Conferences of Oceania (F.C.B.C.O.) Bishop Anthony Randazzo (56)

Last updated on 2023.03.17

© 2023